View Poll Results: How do you wake up the PC with a Remote?

Voters
83. You may not vote on this poll
  • I use MCE Remote with USB IR Reciever

    20 24.10%
  • I use MCE Remote with USB IR Reciever (from Hauppauge bundles)

    5 6.02%
  • I use iMon VDF (delivered with some cases like Antec Fusion)

    5 6.02%
  • I use iMon inside

    3 3.61%
  • I use homebrew IR solution (like www.simerec.com/PCS-2.html / www.atric.de)

    3 3.61%
  • I use an workaround (like IR remoteable power switches)

    0 0%
  • I use my box 24/7 no need to wake up the machine with a remote

    23 27.71%
  • I use the old style version (stand up, walk to the machine & push the power button)

    19 22.89%
  • I use some other solution not listed, details in post below

    8 9.64%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: How to wake up PC with Remote

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    243
    I use the usb-uirt. I've never had a problem waking the computer from standby. There was an application that I had to use to map a button to wake the machine. I think it was called LRN helper.
    P4 2.4b Northwood - 1 Gig RAM - PVR 150 - Sapphire 2600XT AGP - HDA X-Mystique 7.1 Dolby Digital Live -> Samsung HT - USB-UIRT, USB-> 2 Playstation Controller Adaptors - NEC ND-3550A Burner

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    good ol' germany
    Posts
    546
    Quote Originally Posted by jam_zhou View Post
    Then you also have to enable the USB devices to not turn off during standby in your control panel.
    that would be the option "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" in the device manager? do you have "Allow this device to wake the system from standby" enabled?
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yep, what he said.
    curiosity killed the cat

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    27
    I have a script file that checks if a recording is in progress or comskip is running and shutdown based on the scheduler. In the morning it wakes up and runs the epg update.

    I then use a bluetooth 2 mouse with 2 of the buttons programmed with
    Ctrl Right and Ctrl Left. For the most part the bluetooth keyboard is not needed and is stored out of the way.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    138
    I'm using the atric thingy and wouldn't even want to try out anything else.
    I don't have any problems with a german documentation, of course ...
    GBPVR 1.3.11 Loewe Xemix 5106 DVD Player Case Noritake 20045 Series 4x20 VFD Win XP HomePro
    AOpen i915GMm-HFS Pentium Mobile 1.7 GHz Pinnacle DVB-T Matsushita SlimLime DVD 160 GB 2.5" Fujitsu Hornet
    Plugins: Movie Wizard External Display TV Listings

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Macomb, MI (Detroit) USA
    Posts
    126

    My setup details for "Wake up with an MCE Remote"

    The "PC" button on my remote acts as a on/off switch for my computer (actually standby/wakeup only - details later)

    My hardware:
    1.MCE Remote (bought from newegg) - dongle attached to USB port.
    2. Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. This motherboard does NOT have "Wake-on-USB" power management option!

    Apparently, when in standby, I have power on USB ports. That's why I can wake it up only from standby but not from hibernation or off state. I like it this way, it is faster and it uses 7W in standby vs 5W in off state.

    Software: winxp prof sp2, hip.

    Other setups:
    1. BIOS setup for S3 power management option.

    2. registry:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\usb] "USBBIOSx"=dword:00000000

    3. I have 2 keyboard devices listed in my Device Manager: HID Keyboard Device and Microsoft eHome Remote Control Keyboard keys. Both have Power Management tab and "Allow this device to bring the computer out of standby" is enabled.

    4. I have HID-compliant mouse listed, it has Power Management tab and "Allow this device to bring the computer out of standby" is enabled.

    ( I also have wireless keyboard/mouse - I am not sure what the above devices are associated with)

    5. Finally, in HIP-Alternate Input I assigned PC key on remote to C_SLEEP Primary Command.

    Interestingly, only the "PC" button wakes up the computer, I have no idea how it recognizes this particular button when sleeping!

    I don't have to add that I like very much the way it works for me.

    ====================
    If other people with MCE Remotes can verify this setup, I can add this to wiki with confidence.
    GBPVR 1.3.11 on WinXP SP2; ATSC OTA.
    Core 2 Duo 2.2GHz; 2GB RAM; NVIDIA 8500GT 256MB; Hauppauge HVR-1600 and Pinnacle HD Pro, 720p HDTV;

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,199
    I use a universal programmable remote (a Philips Prestigio) where the PC "standby" key code is used to resume the PC from remote using a hauppauge USB MCE IR receiver. I could have used the MCE compatible USB IR receiver that is in the PC case but that receiver is not "visible" when I am in my favorite TV viewing chair.

    In the BIOS I have enabled S3 standby. Hibernate was tried but resuming from hibernate did not re-enable the tuners correctly and it took much longer.
    I do not use the remote to bring the PC to standby but there is a code I use to stop PVRX2.exe to ensure there is no remaining activity
    The PC will go to standby when no activity for 5 minutes using the regular windows power control panel.

    The universal remote has "activity" keys that will set all equipment to the right powerstate

    I use the HIP IR replacement driver but that is because I need the HIP replacement driver to send any RC5/RC6 code using the numeric code instead of having to learn the code.
    P4 3GHz 1GB, 250GB, nVidia dualTV, GBPVR 1.3.11, XP
    Support Comskip, visit the forum and donate at http://www.comskip.org/

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    315
    Erik - assume you're referencing the problem getting universal remotes to learn an MCE compatible remote due to their use of toggle codes (ie pressing a button twice in a row sends 2 different IR commands)? If so, what type of remote have you programmed in to your Prestigio?

    Am currently grappling with just this problem myself, although to go back on topic I'm using a USB-UIRT with the lrnhelper util to programme it, as referenced by nbarsley above. Waking up from standby works just fine, it's everything after that I haven't got working yet!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,199
    The build in database of the Prestigio has all the remote codes already available. Did not have to learn anything.
    For the PC remode you select the PC as device and select the microsoft remote. Then the Prestigio can send all the MCE2 commands including toggles where need.

    Once the PC is woken up by the remote keypress you have multiple options.
    1: Use GBPVRwake to run things like fullresume.exe to wake up the screen. A disadvantage is that GBPVRwake also will be active when the PC wakes for a programmed recording
    2: Use a small autoit program to detect that the PC was woken with a keypress from the remote. Then run fullresume.exe from that small autoit program
    3: Use a second key programmed in the Prestitio key sequence and using HIP to run fullresume.exe

    I use the 3) option as autoit has as a side effect that my PC does not reliable go to standby anymore.
    P4 3GHz 1GB, 250GB, nVidia dualTV, GBPVR 1.3.11, XP
    Support Comskip, visit the forum and donate at http://www.comskip.org/

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    good ol' germany
    Posts
    546
    @rob11252: thanks for sharing, i've updated the wiki

    conclusion:
    25% run 24/7 & don't need/care about it
    18% use the power button
    the rest does have either the full comfort version (read, the genuine entertainment electronics style via remote, high WAF) running or some other workaround (wireless mouse/KB)
    in the end: if that poll is in any way representative, it's a better result than i have expected
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yep, what he said.
    curiosity killed the cat

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Warrington UK
    Posts
    361
    i got philips SRM7500 rf remote with usb receiver to wake up - basically an mce remote without IR and can program/learn other devices. (is good, but guide button doesn't work during live tv - a small price to pay..)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •