Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Archive a Series and/or Batch of Shows in recordings from root menu?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,191
    Sorry, still sounds like a permissions issue to me especially knowing you can't record to it. I am not taking you local windows account I am taking about local system account. Anyway use the forum search, you will find some more info.

    Martin

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35
    Found it, apparently I have to create folders to archive to:

    2016-04-06 16:02:47.479 [DEBUG][16] ArchiveRecording(898:America's Funniest Home Videos, Archive)
    2016-04-06 16:02:47.484 [DEBUG][18] Starting archive controller
    2016-04-06 16:02:48.484 [DEBUG][18] Source File: C:\Users\Public\Videos\Americas Funniest Home Videos\Americas Funniest Home Videos_20160327_19002000.ts
    2016-04-06 16:02:48.495 [ERROR][18] Unexpected error archiving file: System.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Americas Funniest Home Videos'.
    at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
    at System.IO.Directory.InternalCreateDirectory(String fullPath, String path, Object dirSecurityObj, Boolean checkHost)
    at System.IO.Directory.InternalCreateDirectoryHelper( String path, Boolean checkHost)
    at System.IO.Directory.CreateDirectory(String path)
    at NShared.ArchivingService.WorkerThread()
    2016-04-06 16:03:11.314 [DEBUG][15] OnStop()

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Quote Originally Posted by GuruSR View Post
    ... apparently I have to create folders to archive to:
    I use Archive to transfer files to a NAS. I do not have to create folders.

    I suspect that this is still a permissions issue. The archive is actually performed by the NextPVR Recording Service that runs continuously in the background. The NextPVR Recording Service does not run under the user account that you logon with and that is the user account that would be used when accessing the NAS using, for example, Windows Explorer.

    What happens if you set permissions on the NAS to allow all users to read/write to the "share" and to the folder?
    AMD A75, 4 Gig, 1000 Gig, Nvidia N210
    1 x Hauppauge WinTV QuadHD DVB-T2
    1 x TBS 6281 dual DVB-T2
    2 x Hauppauge Nova-t PCI

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35
    I'll try another share, though, I'm wondering if I shouldn't force the service into the user account. (Old style service, by just running the service manually on startup as a task.)

    I still would like to be able to archive the entire set, which is annoying as I have a bunch of them to do and 1 at a time is annoying.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,684
    I run the recording service under my user account to get around a problem with accessing network shares in a windows server domain. It doesn't seem to cause any problems...

    Run services.msc, go into the NPVR Recording Services properties sheet / Log On tab and change it to log on as your user account.

    Alex

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35
    I was going to do that, though, IIRC, the user account requires a password, not sure if M$ got rid of that annoyance. I'll double check that again. I had actually had the mounted shares running under NT Authority (SYSTEM), shows up as "Disconnected" by default until you use it, that should have solved it, didn't seem to, not sure when NPVR actually tests for those locations.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35
    Oddly, it wasn't a permissions error, the shares are under "NT Authority", but for some reason the share isn't accessable by the NRecord service (which didn't make much sense). Putting the service under a user account does work (and fails to log in as expected, services cannot be run [normally] with no password).

    Anyone wanting to use the user account *should* put a password to log in on their account and then the NRecord service will function properly (with the password present). There *is* a way to disable the strict password requirement on services, but, in doing so, you open the machine up to a severe security risk that could render it available for easy hacking. If you don't plan to surf on the PC EVER (and have removed all web browsers [important] from the system), you can use a registry entry to disable the requirement for passwords needed to run services (as I said, this *isn't* something anyone should do lightly).

    If you do decide to remove the password restriction on services, you can log in with your user account without a password and the service *will* run properly. Without the removal of the restriction, any password-less user account is unable to securely log into your account to run a service.

    An option would be for NPVR to offer user/password for the share and store that as a login, making using shares across multiple servers possible.

    GuruSR.
    Last edited by GuruSR; 2016-04-12 at 07:28 PM. Reason: Option Request added at the end for shares.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,008
    Quote Originally Posted by GuruSR View Post
    I still would like to be able to archive the entire set, which is annoying as I have a bunch of them to do and 1 at a time is annoying.
    Yes. It would be nice to be able to select an Archive menu option on a Series folder in the Ready Recordings view and then have it move all of the episodes of that series to the selected directory automatically rather than having to do each episode individually.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    HK - Pal I
    Posts
    3,205
    I'm just upping this as it didn't make it into the current update; hope to have a few more folks who see the value of it.

    k.
    ASUS P5K-PRO Q9300 2.5GHz | Win10x64 | 6GB RAM | NVIDIA GEforce 210 | 1 x WinTV DMB-TH | Various HD's | AC68U | USB-UIRT | PCH-A110 | Hauppauge Colossus |
    If you've ever become frustrated because something in NextPVR is not working, take a moment and consider this and this and this and this and this and this. Credit where credit's due; for one guy (with a wife and two kids), most problems are solved outrageously quickly. Patience.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Surfers Paradise, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    135
    Being able to archive (ie move) an entire series in one hit rather than by each individual recording would be great feature for me as well

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •