Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Force close on record

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,541
    Quote Originally Posted by fuzzweed View Post
    Is there anything to note in that the 'watch' and 'close' buttons work. Is this handled differently?
    Yes.

    The button which is causing the crash is dual purpose - if the programme isn't already set to record then the text on the button shows "Record". If it is already set to record then the text is "Cancel". In this case I need to get the text from the button to work out what to do.

    The "Close" and "Watch" buttons only ever do one thing each so I don't need to access their text - they're simply identified by a unique numeric identifier. The Record / Cancel button is also identified this way but I then need to check the text in order to work out what to do (schedule or cancel a recording). A normal Android Button shouldn't return a SpannableString (it can but only if explicitly set to having Spannable text). This is where the problem lies.

    I'll try a workaround but it seems like I'm compensating for non-standard behaviour. Ideally the Cyanogenmod folk need to fix it as it will inevitably break other Android apps.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    1,199
    Yes, that's an annoyance coding around other peoples bugs. I'll look at posting a bug report, but looks like it might be a bit onerous for a simple user like me! Is the crash report you got sent the 'logcat'? If so can you send it back so I can submit it?
    Last edited by fuzzweed; 2014-06-30 at 06:06 AM.
    Server: Win7 N | AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz | 4Gig RAM | Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 Mobo | 5TB+ HDDs | 2x BlackGold Twin HD DVB-T| ATI HD 5450 | Cambridge Audio DAC Magic
    Client 1: OpenElec / XBMC | Dell GX280 P4 3.4GHz |2Gig RAM | ATI HD 5450 | SPDIF pass through
    Client 2: OpenElec / XBMC | Dell GX280 P4 3.4GHz |2Gig RAM | ATI HD 5450 | C-MEDIA USB DAC
    Android: Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 4.4.2 Cyanogenmod 11

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,541
    Quote Originally Posted by fuzzweed View Post
    Yes, that's an annoyance coding around other peoples bugs. I'll look at posting a bug report, but looks like it might be a bit onerous for a simple user like me! Is the crash report you got sent the 'logcat'? If so can you send it back so I can submit it?
    The crash report I got was a stack trace which would have been a short snippet of your logcat.

    I've just created an account on the Cyanogenmod forums and did a search but didn't come up with anything relevant. I've also been looking through the Android source code and can't find anything which would automatically switch a Button to be Spannable so I'm still 99% sure it's a fault in Cynogenmod. The fact it's not a problem on my 4 year old HTC Desire (running original v2.2) or my Nexus 7 (running v4.4.4) is compelling evidence.

    If you'd prefer I'll submit a bug report and include the stack trace - it doesn't contain any of your personal information.

    In the meantime I'll tweak my code to (hopefully) fix it. Having taken a closer look I think it's only that view which is affected.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    1,199
    Yeah, I entered a few of the terms you mentioned in the known issue search box and it didn't throw up anything. If you've got the time and are willing to do the report then that's great - I think you might stand a better chance of explaining the problem and framing it in the right terms. Otherwise send me the stack trace and I'll give it a go. All the instructions are on the CM website, but so far I've had to google pretty much every step!
    Server: Win7 N | AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz | 4Gig RAM | Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 Mobo | 5TB+ HDDs | 2x BlackGold Twin HD DVB-T| ATI HD 5450 | Cambridge Audio DAC Magic
    Client 1: OpenElec / XBMC | Dell GX280 P4 3.4GHz |2Gig RAM | ATI HD 5450 | SPDIF pass through
    Client 2: OpenElec / XBMC | Dell GX280 P4 3.4GHz |2Gig RAM | ATI HD 5450 | C-MEDIA USB DAC
    Android: Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 4.4.2 Cyanogenmod 11

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    1,199
    Think I must have missed the actual update when the change occurred, but this appears to be working again now, so thanks for the fix
    Server: Win7 N | AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz | 4Gig RAM | Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 Mobo | 5TB+ HDDs | 2x BlackGold Twin HD DVB-T| ATI HD 5450 | Cambridge Audio DAC Magic
    Client 1: OpenElec / XBMC | Dell GX280 P4 3.4GHz |2Gig RAM | ATI HD 5450 | SPDIF pass through
    Client 2: OpenElec / XBMC | Dell GX280 P4 3.4GHz |2Gig RAM | ATI HD 5450 | C-MEDIA USB DAC
    Android: Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 4.4.2 Cyanogenmod 11

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    1,199
    Force close on record is back! - Not sure what's changed. Just sent a crash report....
    Server: Win7 N | AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz | 4Gig RAM | Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 Mobo | 5TB+ HDDs | 2x BlackGold Twin HD DVB-T| ATI HD 5450 | Cambridge Audio DAC Magic
    Client 1: OpenElec / XBMC | Dell GX280 P4 3.4GHz |2Gig RAM | ATI HD 5450 | SPDIF pass through
    Client 2: OpenElec / XBMC | Dell GX280 P4 3.4GHz |2Gig RAM | ATI HD 5450 | C-MEDIA USB DAC
    Android: Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 4.4.2 Cyanogenmod 11

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,541
    Quote Originally Posted by fuzzweed View Post
    Force close on record is back! - Not sure what's changed. Just sent a crash report....
    OK thanks. I'll take a look. Sorry for the delay in replying - lots of stuff going on at the moment so I'm not visiting the npvr forums as often as I normally do. The automated email from the Android dev system also isn't working so I didn't get a notification of the crash report.

    Cheers,
    Brian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •