Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Issue with the newest update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45

    Issue with the newest update

    Ugh, I am pulling my hair out here and REAALLY hope that some can assist

    I have been using NPVR without issue for over a year now. I never had an issue (except for the initial setup, and, this forum assisted me with that).

    So, I just updated to the latest software. I am using windows 10 64bit. Now, once I updated, when going to view live TV, it is just a black screen. I may even be able to live without live TV because I use this primarily to make recordings, but, it wont even record. I get a filename that is ZERO bites in size.

    I have rebooted MULTIPLE times, uninstalled and reinstalled the software, reinstalled the KLITE CODEC PACK over and over and am at my wits end...I cannot get this figured out.

    Can someone PLEASE help?

    The BLASTER appears to be tuning into the channel I want, but, I get the non responsive black screen...

    My log file is zipped and attached

    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    83,063
    Is the Hauppauge software showing video from your HDPVR?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Is the Hauppauge software showing video from your HDPVR?
    Yes...it is playing perfectly through there. Which is making this more confusing for me

    Thanks for your reply.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    83,063
    The logs show you've got the LAV Video Decoder selected for the H.264 video decoder. This decoder is known to not play nicely with NextPVR. Ultimately though, since you're getting zero size recordings, it sounds like your issue is more on the capture side.

    Your logs show it using Component video with RCA audio, I assume that's correct? With an HDPVR this is a combination which would usually deliver data reliably, and it's functional in WinTV, so I'm surprised you're ending up with a zero byte file. It might be worth checking the security permissions recording directory, in case you've ended up with permissions that allow the creation of new files, but not to write to them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    The logs show you've got the LAV Video Decoder selected for the H.264 video decoder. This decoder is known to not play nicely with NextPVR. Ultimately though, since you're getting zero size recordings, it sounds like your issue is more on the capture side.

    Your logs show it using Component video with RCA audio, I assume that's correct? With an HDPVR this is a combination which would usually deliver data reliably, and it's functional in WinTV, so I'm surprised you're ending up with a zero byte file. It might be worth checking the security permissions recording directory, in case you've ended up with permissions that allow the creation of new files, but not to write to them.
    I read that the LAV Decoder isnt the best for NPVR, however, it has been working fine for the past year without issues.

    Checked the security permissions in the folder as well. All is working as it should

    Every time I have updated this software, I have had issues getting things to work again. I dont know if it is something I am doing wrong or if I have the worst luck ever. I held off on updating for this reason, now I updated and it is unusable Not complaining, just venting for a bit. Sorry. Thanks for trying to help

    Any other ideas?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    83,063
    Any other ideas?
    mmm, not really. If you're up for it, I'm happy to remotely connect using TeamViewer (or Remote Desktop) to take a look. I'm sure I'll be able to work it out and resolve it for you with 10 minutes or so on the machine,

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    mmm, not really. If you're up for it, I'm happy to remotely connect using TeamViewer (or Remote Desktop) to take a look. I'm sure I'll be able to work it out and resolve it for you with 10 minutes or so on the machine,
    OH MY GOD !!!! That would be fantastic....I was going to throw that suggestion out but didnt know if someone out there would be willing to do this

    Would you mind ? We can setup a time/day .. whatever works best for you.....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    83,063
    I'm gonna be out for the next 3 hours. If you're available then, I can take a look. Otherwise, I'm gonna be away the next couple of days, and can take a look when I'm back.

    I'm going to want to check it in the Hauppauge software too, so make sure that is on the machine as well.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    I'm gonna be out for the next 3 hours. If you're available then, I can take a look. Otherwise, I'm gonna be away the next couple of days, and can take a look when I'm back.

    I'm going to want to check it in the Hauppauge software too, so make sure that is on the machine as well.
    I'm on my way to work now....I do have team viewer installed on my machine though......and, look at whatever you need to look at....I normally have all day free though......

    I get out of work at midnight (Eastern Standard Time).I am assuming that won't work for you ?...I'll even throw a couple of bucks your way for doing this....

    When is the soonest you can do it? And once again, I really appreciate this

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    24,959
    How did you resolve the same problem the last time it happened http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread...994#post504994

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •