PDA

View Full Version : PVR-360 Lockups and Motherboard Types



lseats
2004-08-26, 09:38 PM
I'm currently using a Gigabyte GA-7DXC Motherboard (AMD-761/ VIA 686B chipset) and I can't dispaly video with the hardware decoder at all with GB-PVR as it locks immediately.

I also have a Soyo Dragon Plus (VIA KT266A Chipset). Would it be worth swapping the Soyo baord into the machine or am I still likely to have the same problem?

The system is running well otherwise, so I hate to swap the motherboard if it is not likely to help.

sub
2004-08-26, 09:52 PM
To be quite honest, with the hassles people have with the the hardware decoder in the PVR350 I'd have to recommend sticking with the current motherboard and just using software decoding for now. I know its annoying given the excellent quality of the PVR350 decoder, but the drivers just dont seem reliable enough for my liking.

goosey
2004-08-26, 10:24 PM
Well - you could say that, but I think in some cases there may be something else going on.

This is slightly different than the symptoms of this topic but due to the number of PVR350 problem topics started I thought I should add my 2 cents.

I have been playing with GBPVR since v018 and have only "appeared" to be having troubles with v020.

My variant on this issue is that I go into Live TV - works fine - then if press the back button on the remote it locks up my whole PC. Last night I tried Live TV, and then pressed the "stop" button on the remote and it worked fine (goes back to the menu), then I went back into LiveTv and then pressed the "Back" button on the remote - and sure enough - hang - CTRL-ALT-DEL didn't even respond.

Something that I need to test (and have just thought of) is that I was using the remote with the ir.exe running - where previously I wasn't so I will try tonight without it and see what happens. I had switched to using the ir.exe after sub suggested that slow gbpvr startups *may* have been due to using the setting to control the 350 natively.

Anyone care to test these config settings as well?

sub
2004-08-26, 10:39 PM
If the machine hangs and even CTRL-ALT-DEL doesn't respond, then it has hung in the driver (kernel mode). If it was running in GB-PVR code (user mode), then CTRL-ALT-DEL would still work.

goosey
2004-08-27, 12:32 AM
Ok, so maybe I have problems with XP SP2 and 350 drivers....I will do some more testing and look at some crash dumps if possible. Cheers.

lseats
2004-08-27, 12:38 AM
The funny thing is that the software decoder doesn't work for me either, but that is probably just a missing codec. I've not really played with it much since for now I don't have the output going to a TV. I just transfer whatever I want to watch to a DVD.

I do eventually want to get the output going and get an MVP for TV display. My PVR sits in the utility room so I don't have another good way to get the video to a TV.

I asume the same decoder driver problems will also effect sending to the MVP?

sub
2004-08-27, 01:07 AM
The problem I was referring too only applies to the PVR350 tvout, which uses the hardware decoder.

If you're having problems with MPEG2 software playback on the PC, you should try explicitly selecting a different decoder. The "system default" sometimes picks one that doesnt work correctly.

The MVP has its own decoder, so doesnt rely on any software playback ones on the PC.

lseats
2004-08-27, 01:52 AM
Quote[/b] (sub @ Aug. 26 2004,21:07)]The problem I was referring too only applies to the PVR350 tvout, which uses the hardware decoder.

If you're having problems with MPEG2 software playback on the PC, you should try explicitly selecting a different decoder. The "system default" sometimes picks one that doesnt work correctly.

The MVP has its own decoder, so doesnt rely on any software playback ones on the PC.
Thanks sub -- you inspired me to play with it some more. I got the software playback working after installing another decoder and selecting it. Of course, since I don't have it connected to a TV and only access it with Remote Desktop over a wireless connection, I don't plan on watching it much. http://gbpvr.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

That's good news about the MVP -- looks like I will have to put my order in for one. I already ordered the 50 foot ethernet cable to string along the baseboards from the utility room to the TV.