PDA

View Full Version : Skip, pause does not work on some movies



OscarL
2007-02-24, 04:06 PM
Hello,
Have just tried the mvpmc dongle, both 3.3 as well as the daily build.
It works great. However I have found that for certain move files (mpeg recorded trough DVB-T) neither pause nor skip buttons seems to work. But for other there is no problem. The same files play well with the gbpvr dongle.
I thought it may have to do with a bad timeline so I ran them through retime but still no luck. Is this something you have seen before?
I have not found any pattern for why some files work and some don't.

Regards
Oscar

mvallevand
2007-02-24, 06:44 PM
However I have found that for certain move files (mpeg recorded trough DVB-T) neither pause nor skip buttons seems to work. But for other there is no problem. The same files play well with the gbpvr dongle.
I thought it may have to do with a bad timeline so I ran them through retime but still no luck. Is this something you have seen before?
I have not found any pattern for why some files work and some don't.

Thanks for the feedback, but as a note my alpha is a little different then the nightlies.

There hasn't been a lot of diverse testing so any new problem probably hasn't been seen. If possible I'd like to see your gbpvr logs around the time of the problem. Perhaps I have to treat pause the way I do volume controls and manage them myself?

Also note the timeline issue is more a GBPVR server-side issue. Where there will the most problems with emulation mode right now is with low bitrate. Low bitrate files could have trouble with the navigation especially when they are small or finishing off.

Martin

OscarL
2007-02-24, 07:24 PM
Hi again,
Enclosed is the logs from when viewing a film. Started 20.12. After starting the film I pressed first pause a number of times and then a number of skip commands. This was tried with the latest released dongle 0.3.3.
Hope this is enough info.
Regards
Oscar

mvallevand
2007-02-25, 01:38 AM
Hi again,
Enclosed is the logs from when viewing a film. Started 20.12. After starting the film I pressed first pause a number of times and then a number of skip commands. This was tried with the latest released dongle 0.3.3.
Hope this is enough info.
Regards
Oscar

Thanks. Also do you have force minimal OSD for MVP checked? I haven't ever tested without it being checked.

Martin

OscarL
2007-02-25, 08:11 AM
Thanks for your quick respons!.
Yes, "Force minimal OSD" is on.
Oscar

OscarL
2007-02-25, 07:36 PM
Have done some more tests. Can not see any difference between the files where skip and pause work and the one where it does not. Any ideas on how I can check what differs?
Enclosed is a new log where I first run a movie, where I try to skip but without any reaction followed by a movie where it works.
Oscar

mvallevand
2007-02-25, 08:40 PM
Have done some more tests. Can not see any difference between the files where skip and pause work and the one where it does not. Any ideas on how I can check what differs?
Enclosed is a new log where I first run a movie, where I try to skip but without any reaction followed by a movie where it works.
Oscar

Thanks, to be honest I have not had a chance to look at your first logs but the more data the better at this point and what you are doing is very much appreciated. I've been working on some other things in emulation mode, and I want to get an alpha out today with video play all working (at least for mpeg-2 files).

I'm also working on getting mvpmc to work on other hardware too and had to build a new linux workstation to do this this morning. I've been excited by the enthusiasm that mvpmc has generated since sub was kind enough to open the forum.

Martin

tkgafs
2007-02-25, 08:56 PM
I've been excited by the enthusiasm that mvpmc has generated since sub was kind enough to open the forum.

Martin

Martin,

I think it just shows the frustration we all feel with the various Hauppauge dongles, none of them are really reliable, the MVP is a great bit of kit for the price but it could be so much better as sub and yourself are showing

Anything I can do to help with testing let me know, I think the level you're coding at though is well beyond my capabilities, the most complicated thing I ever managed was a terminal emulator and a tape device driver both at least 20 years ago.

Tkgafs

mvallevand
2007-02-26, 02:27 AM
I think it just shows the frustration we all feel with the various Hauppauge dongles, none of them are really reliable, the MVP is a great bit of kit for the price but it could be so much better as sub and yourself are showing

I think there's this MediaMVP dance. Users start with Hauppauge, and then try one or all of GBPVR, BeyondTV, SageTV, and if they are brave (foolish?) MythTV searching for the best combination. Obviously I'm here because I think this is the best use for emulation mode.



Anything I can do to help with testing let me know, I think the level you're coding at though is well beyond my capabilities, the most complicated thing I ever managed was a terminal emulator and a tape device driver both at least 20 years ago.


Interesting I did both at work when I was programming, a tn3270 emulator and tape driver to load mainframe data into a PC. I will very likely take you up on your offer if and when I need to capture real-world log data from the mvp side.

Martin

mvallevand
2007-02-26, 03:47 AM
Hi again,
Enclosed is the logs from when viewing a film. Started 20.12. After starting the film I pressed first pause a number of times and then a number of skip commands. This was tried with the latest released dongle 0.3.3.
Hope this is enough info.
Regards
Oscar
Do you have both the Hauppauge services turned off?

Martin

OscarL
2007-02-26, 06:08 AM
Yes they are turned off. Just double checked to be sure. I have two MWP's however for what it's worth :)
Thanks for your time.
Oscar

bofh
2007-02-27, 01:37 AM
I think this is what I was seeing when you first introduced this dongle. Back then I gave it a try and found that keys seemed to be swallowed.

My original post:
http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?p=157895#post157895

If it makes any difference, my MVP is a H2 version.

mvallevand
2007-02-27, 03:13 AM
I think this is what I was seeing when you first introduced this dongle. Back then I gave it a try and found that keys seemed to be swallowed.

My original post:
http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?p=157895#post157895

If it makes any difference, my MVP is a H2 version.
It's not really a question of keys getting swallowed more I don't get back what I expect from GBPVR after a FF/RW/Skip which is why I need help with log information. I have made some significant steps since the dongle you tried, LiveTV works as an example, and Video Play All should work in many situations when I release the next one, but there still are some holes in my logic. The more logs the better.

I typically test with a D3A and H1 and I don't think the H2 will make a difference.

Martin

bofh
2007-02-28, 08:23 PM
It's not really a question of keys getting swallowed more I don't get back what I expect from GBPVR after a FF/RW/Skip which is why I need help with log information. I have made some significant steps since the dongle you tried, LiveTV works as an example, and Video Play All should work in many situations when I release the next one, but there still are some holes in my logic. The more logs the better.

I typically test with a D3A and H1 and I don't think the H2 will make a difference.

Martin

Hi, I didn't realize you wanted the logs. When I get around to it, I'll give the new version a try again and post logs when I find issues. Thanks again.

mvallevand
2007-02-28, 11:21 PM
Hi, I didn't realize you wanted the logs. When I get around to it, I'll give the new version a try again and post logs when I find issues. Thanks again.
When you posted on the main forum i wasn't, but the closer I get to something usable the more the information becomes valuable. I will release an alpha later tonight, that will clear all my internal flag settings, with the Go key followed by OK, whether this does anything remains to be seen.

Martin.