PDA

View Full Version : DVD vob files in Video Archive



Jams6502
2007-04-15, 08:19 PM
Hi Jeff

Delighted to see Video Archive with it's own forum - I think it's a great plugin.

I see all the support for DVD ripping and converting to MPGs, but I was wondering if it is easy to provide support for .VOBs ? I normally rip my DVDs using DVD decrypter and generate one single VOB file. The regular GBPVR video library handles these well (obviously just on the PC, not the MVP). I like the VA front end and would love if VA recognised them.

Other question : The new functionality for generting an image in VA by extracting a frame from the video is excellent. Is there a recommended way for removing an image and letting it do an fresh extract ?

Thanks, and great work

Jimmy

Jeff
2007-04-16, 04:31 AM
I haven't tried it, but if you go into the config app and set vob as a video extension type on the main tab of the plug-in it should work. You will need to rescan after this change (press F11 or GO while in the main plug-in screen).

As to resampling the image, for DVDs, you can do this my selecting the movie to bring up the informational dialog. Press menu while this dialog is showing and a list of commands pops up. One of them is for fetching an image from the file. The default location is 25 seconds into the film. The default is global to the plug-in and can be changed manually be creating a AutoCreatePosterSampleLocation item in the config.xml file with the value (in seconds) that you want to use.

Jeff

Jeff

Jams6502
2007-04-16, 08:18 PM
Thanks Jeff

I never tried the menu button - there are a few useful functions there ! I changed the AutoCreatePosterSampleLocation value to 120 seconds. It works better for me 'cos I normally prepad recordings by 1 minute.

Regarding the .vob files - I have tried what you suggest numerous times in the past and it doen't work. Just to be clear I am adding the extension to the list of video file entensions i.e. changing "mpg|mpeg|avi" to "mpg|mpeg|avi|vob" and doing the F11 refresh. I was looking through the log files to see if I could spot anything helpful - but nothing there. If you get a change to check it you, that would be great.

Thanks again for a great plugin.

Jeff
2007-04-16, 08:56 PM
Thanks Jeff

I never tried the menu button - there are a few useful functions there ! I changed the AutoCreatePosterSampleLocation value to 120 seconds. It works better for me 'cos I normally prepad recordings by 1 minute.


The AutoCreatePosterSampleLocation is applied after the default prepad amount (as specified in your main gbpvr config.xml file) for recordings. For DVDs it is assumed there is no prepad.

Jeff