PDA

View Full Version : Getting stuck on the MVPMC logo screen



barakori
2007-04-16, 08:43 PM
I've downloaded the "Alpha test dongle", but it in the right place and re-powered the MVP.

It started loading and reached the MVPMC logo (a www.mvpmc.org written in a chalk-like white over a blue rectangle). At that point everything is stuck. I waited for over 5 minutes and nothing happened. I waited another 5 minutes and the MediaMVP simply turned itself off.

What do I do to test this? Is there a way to TELNET/PING/SSH whatever into the MediaMVP and check what's going on with it?

BTW, I'm using a Wireless MediaMVP (I don't know if that's important).

mvallevand
2007-04-16, 09:57 PM
I've downloaded the "Alpha test dongle", but it in the right place and re-powered the MVP.

It started loading and reached the MVPMC logo (a www.mvpmc.org written in a chalk-like white over a blue rectangle). At that point everything is stuck. I waited for over 5 minutes and nothing happened. I waited another 5 minutes and the MediaMVP simply turned itself off.

What do I do to test this? Is there a way to TELNET/PING/SSH whatever into the MediaMVP and check what's going on with it?

BTW, I'm using a Wireless MediaMVP (I don't know if that's important).

You should be able to ping or telnet to your mvpmc a few seconds after the logo. If you can't do this the problem is probably an error on the dhcp request. If you can telnet let me know.

Martin

barakori
2007-04-17, 06:35 AM
Afer seeing the logo, I can't ping not telnet the unit. It's unlikely that the DHCP negotiation failed, since I've been using a wireless router for quite some time and my 2 computers and MediaMVP all use DHCP. When the MediaMVP uses the dongle provided with GB-PVR it's also successful at getting an IP address.

I also see the following in my router's DHCP client log:

ip=192.168.2.128 mac=00-0D-FE-0C-3D-29 name=

This is the MediaMVP. At the momen, I'm using WEP, and don't restrict by MAC address.

Any other suggestions?

mvallevand
2007-04-17, 11:14 AM
Afer seeing the logo, I can't ping not telnet the unit. It's unlikely that the DHCP negotiation failed, since I've been using a wireless router for quite some time and my 2 computers and MediaMVP all use DHCP. When the MediaMVP uses the dongle provided with GB-PVR it's also successful at getting an IP address.

I also see the following in my router's DHCP client log:

ip=192.168.2.128 mac=00-0D-FE-0C-3D-29 name=

The MediaMVP does two dhcp requests, once during boot up and once a new dongle is loaded.



This is the MediaMVP. At the momen, I'm using WEP, and don't restrict by MAC address.

Any other suggestions?

It's coming back to me, there's not a lot of wMVP users out there. We chose to only support WEP 128 bit. That might be the problem.

Martin

barakori
2007-04-18, 06:59 AM
Okay, you made me switch to WEP-1280 (which is actually a good thing...) and I confirm the mvpmc dongle works flawlessly. I even used telnet to get into the box (hey, I had to "guess" the username...). I'm going to leave the box on and go to work and let our Linux guru connect remotely to it (I'll SSH from office to home). Very nice.

I also added a comment to the post that was the reason I tried the mvpmc. It's here: http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?p=191776#post191776

mvallevand
2007-04-18, 11:51 AM
Okay, you made me switch to WEP-1280 (which is actually a good thing...) and I confirm the mvpmc dongle works flawlessly. I even used telnet to get into the box (hey, I had to "guess" the username...). I'm going to leave the box on and go to work and let our Linux guru connect remotely to it (I'll SSH from office to home). Very nice.

I'm glad it worked, sorry that I forget about the 128 bit key. For security given that WEP is not really that secure the difference to someone who wants in is insignificant, it was just easier for Jon, who did the coding for the wireless interface to support this. Hauppauge wasn't able to give us any documentation on the wireless card because TI wouldn't permt it so he just figured this setup out. If we had this documentation we might have been able to turn on WAP

As for the telnet from work, I certainly wouldn't recommend this in general. mvpmc does support dropbear http://matt.ucc.asn.au/dropbear/dropbear.html so if you know what you are doing you can establish an ssh connection and kill the telnet interface. This is what I do when I run wireless. I also give root a password, unfortunately I haven't compiled the utility to do this for win32 yet.

I should also mention that there is an integrated web server in mvpmc but It is disabled on the wireless interface. I might add a command line option to enable this. It would give your linux guru something more useful to connect to.



I also added a comment to the post that was the reason I tried the mvpmc. It's here: http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?p=191776#post191776

Thanks for testing this. I thought that your monitor might sync onto the PAL signal in NTSC mode, but I guess something in the hardware prevents this.

Martin

jbreiding
2007-05-17, 01:50 AM
I am getting the same thing, i am not using wep or wpa at all. is this my issue?

mvallevand
2007-05-17, 02:19 AM
I am getting the same thing, i am not using wep or wpa at all. is this my issue?

I'm checking with Jon who wrote the code. From what I can tell It looks like if you ever had a wep key stored you would have to remove it and then disable wep.

Martin

jbreiding
2007-05-17, 03:53 AM
I'm checking with Jon who wrote the code. From what I can tell It looks like if you ever had a wep key stored you would have to remove it and then disable wep.

Martin


I have never used wep. any advice?

mvallevand
2007-05-17, 04:12 AM
I have never used wep. any advice?

Try the dongle.bin in here

http://www.mvpmc.org/~mvallevand/jbreiding.zip

If that works let me know, there's a bug in the mvpmc code.

Martin

jbreiding
2007-05-17, 12:08 PM
Try the dongle.bin in here

http://www.mvpmc.org/~mvallevand/jbreiding.zip

If that works let me know, there's a bug in the mvpmc code.

Martin

this one worked.

mvallevand
2007-05-18, 02:25 AM
this one worked.

Thanks, if you do have a chance could you telnet to you mvpmc login as root and issue the following command

dd if=/dev/mtd2 skip=512 count=1 bs=16

I would like to know what you see, I'm hoping there is a character somewhere after the WMVP That would allow a solution the problem.

Martin

jbreiding
2007-07-06, 04:20 AM
Thanks, if you do have a chance could you telnet to you mvpmc login as root and issue the following command

dd if=/dev/mtd2 skip=512 count=1 bs=16

I would like to know what you see, I'm hoping there is a character somewhere after the WMVP That would allow a solution the problem.

Martin

WMVPYoMoMMa1+0

and actually this is working with the latest one from the mvpmc site.

mvallevand
2007-07-06, 04:26 AM
WMVPYoMoMMa1+0

and actually this is working with the latest one from the mvpmc site.

Actually it looks like you might have entered a WEP key since this first message. If what you posted is close, you might want to change yours!

Martin

jbreiding
2007-07-06, 05:21 AM
Actually it looks like you might have entered a WEP key since this first message. If what you posted is close, you might want to change yours!

Martin

no wep key, i never used wep and still do not.