PDA

View Full Version : Booting MVP from NAS and wake-on-LAN for TV server?



mrayle
2007-07-25, 07:01 PM
Hello! (This is essentially crossposted from the SHSPVR forums)

I received my MVP box yesterday and have already become convinced that I need to use the mvpmc dongle. I am interested in purchasing a NAS box to store media (pictures/audio/video). The wife is interested in not having to have a PC on all the time to be the server for the MVP.

I am wondering if I can boot my MVP from the NAS which will be always on.

In this forum, I saw that there is a method to use mvpmc to mount a share from the NAS, but it wasn't clear if this method totally eliminates the PC server being active.

Furthermore, when I have the video capture portion of the project purchased and installed (the WAF is causing this delay), I want to be able to have the MVP turn on the TV server remote (wake on LAN). Is this possible?

So basically, the wife wants a way to get to pictures and audio without having the PC on, wasting energy and creating heat. Is this possible?

On the gbpvr forums, I saw another user desiring to do the same thing I am want to do. The response basically said that the solution was not an easy thing to do and was not straightforward.

Also, I saw that the response said something along the lines of "why would you want to go thru the trouble?"

To that, I want to ask: "What exactly do you recommend?"

If I put the dongle.config file in a place where the MVP can find it over the network, does the MVP handle a reboot or green button power off/power on if the dongle itself is unavailable on the network and also there is no server serving the dongle?


Thanks!!
Mike

replaytv
2007-07-25, 09:11 PM
I think you only need the PC to serve the mvpmc dongle once with the config file. Unless the power cycle the mvp, then you will need to go thru the same process again.

mrayle
2007-07-25, 10:16 PM
replay -

I think that you have answered my main question. Let me re-iterate to make sure that I understand.

If I press the "power" button on the MVP remote to turn off the MVP, will the dongle be loaded again from the PC server when I press "power" again to turn on the MVP?

Are you saying that the only way that the dongle needs to be reloaded from the PC server is if there is a loss of electricity to the device (unplug/electrical outage)?

Thanks for your help!
Mike

mvallevand
2007-07-25, 10:28 PM
Are you saying that the only way that the dongle needs to be reloaded from the PC server is if there is a loss of electricity to the device (unplug/electrical outage)?



Hi Mike, replaytv got it right unless of course you want to update the software. Here's the results of the uptime command on one of my mvps's

# uptime
18:19:14 up 10 days, 5:44, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00

mvpmc can also be booted from a NAS, I do it from an NSLU2 everyday, but this is definitely for linux hackers only and I strongly recommend against it if you can use GBPVR or Hauppauge.

Martin