PDA

View Full Version : Popcorn Hour Envy



mvallevand
2007-12-31, 09:49 PM
For those of you following the Popcorn Hour / GBPVR thread I decided to implement sub's new HTTP interface in mvpmc so that you can give it a try.

Step 1. Download GBPVR patches from

http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php?p=248353&postcount=65

Step 2. Download and load the test dongle from

http://www.mvpmc.org/~mvallevand/dongle-pch.zip

3. Select the new menu option GB-PVR PCH Demo

It is slower than emulation mode but since the interface is faster on the PCH if you are happy with this, I think you will be really happy with GBPVR on the PCH.

Tips

- The first time you start PCH mode if the screen is blank hit Play
- Don't be surprised that it remembers your state
- mp3's are working (you will notice the native mvpmc play) but mpeg is not.
- Stop returns you to mvpmc main menu.
- This will not work with --emulate ? so you either need to be running a config file or restart from telnet to get it to work.

I'm going to continue playing with this and see if I can get videos to work and maybe even try to interface it to vlc as the media server. Comments are welcome, some of them might even apply to the new PCH users.

Happy New Year!

Martin

mvallevand
2008-01-01, 01:39 PM
OK I updated the dongle because I woke up with an idea and video is working now too. I enabled the screensaver too so don't be alarmed if you see it.

The http protocol for video seems does seem very efficient, it might be interesting for those of you who are have video stuttering problems to try this.

Martin

jksmurf
2008-01-04, 08:24 AM
The post count 44 above can now be updated to

http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php?p=249826&postcount=65

as sub just posted a new PVRX2 and PCHServer. Maybe just refer to the thread and tell folks to look for latest post from sub with attachments ... :-) ,,, bit of chasing the tail going on otherwise...

k.

jksmurf
2008-01-04, 11:41 AM
Well I tried it out ... it was fun!

Works right out of the box. Replaced PVRX2.exe in GBPVR, started a PVRX2.exe -pch instance, then a PCHServe.exe server instance, then dropped your PCH dongle in gbpvr/dongle, then chose your PCH dongle in the Config and restarted GBPVR, then pulled MVP plug which loaded the dongle on the MVP.
At first I thought "hey there's no change" as it went straight to MVP emulation mode via my config startup, but a "Go-Back" got me into the menu, so I could choose GBPVR-PCH mode.
Wow... menu is considerably uglier ("pretty rough" describes it well) compared to GBPVR standard one on the MVP.
Yup, you are right, the menu is considerably slower than emulation. here's hoping the PCH is faster than that! (Would a faster PC improve this?)
Go-Back doesn't get you out of PCH mode into mvpmc menu.
Obviously it's new, so no Comskip etc yet, that I could see. FFW worked well though, amazing. Seems to run the video quite well.Some Q's:

Can I leave it setup like this, i.e. as long as my MVP is working with the patched PVRX2, can I just go with your PCH Dongle for now?
Presumably your PCH Dongle is based on the 28 Dec MVP alpha model?
How can I hide those two ugly screens from the PVRX2.exe -pch and PCHServe.exe server instances?k.

mvallevand
2008-01-04, 12:25 PM
The post count 44 above can now be updated to

http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php?p=249826&postcount=65

as sub just posted a new PVRX2 and PCHServer. Maybe just refer to the thread and tell folks to look for latest post from sub with attachments ... :-) ,,, bit of chasing the tail going on otherwise...

k.

I will update that when I add sub's new features. I don't support the colour keys or live tv just yet. It's not chasing my tail, I'm chasing a perpetual motion, but I have to live with the 1st law of thermodynamics.

Martin

mvallevand
2008-01-04, 01:12 PM
Well I tried it out ... it was fun!

Hopefully sub or Brainstormer can add to this.


Wow... menu is considerably uglier ("pretty rough" describes it well) compared to GBPVR standard one on the MVP.

I hate to say this on my SD NTSC tv the jpeg look better from the mvp. Maybe on PAL or upconverted toe HD it is better. I will post some screen shots if I can show the difference.


Yup, you are right, the menu is considerably slower than emulation. here's hoping the PCH is faster than that!

The PCH is faster but this speed is closer to this mode than emulation mode


(Would a faster PC improve this?)

I will post some times from the pvrx2 logs for comparison, I haven't done this yet



Go-Back doesn't get you out of PCH mode into mvpmc menu.

No Stop does.


Obviously it's new, so no Comskip etc yet, that I could see. FFW worked well though, amazing. Seems to run the video quite well.

Most GBPVR functions don't work when media start because you are just seeing the native mode, so those are comments on mvpmc. The FF mode should be the Go FF mode in emulation. Until I add the interface to the vlc streamer most media control functions in mvpmc won't work on http streams.

If you like this FF you will really like the PCH's choices.


Can I leave it setup like this, i.e. as long as my MVP is working with the patched PVRX2, can I just go with your PCH Dongle for now?

There should be no problem here.


Presumably your PCH Dongle is based on the 28 Dec MVP alpha model?


Yes and I will keep this with the alpha code, but I probably won't release it to the mvpmc repo.

Martin

sub
2008-01-04, 05:05 PM
Wow... menu is considerably uglier ("pretty rough" describes it well) compared to GBPVR standard one on the MVP.On my CRT test tv the PCH menu quality is similar to the MVP. The PCH composite/svideo might be marginally worse due to jpeg compression, but definitely doesnt qualify for "considerably uglier".

It should look pretty similar to the menu you'd see with the regular MVP client given the same overscan size etc.


Yup, you are right, the menu is considerably slower than emulation. here's hoping the PCH is faster than that! (Would a faster PC improve this?)Yes, the PCH is definitely faster. For a realistic feel of the speed you can see a (new) short video of me navigating around with the PH here: http://www.gbpvr.com/pch2.avi (5.5MB file)


Obviously it's new, so no Comskip etc yet, that I could see. FFW worked well though, amazing. Seems to run the video quite well.
GB-PVR doesnt do the file playback itself. Instead the PCH does the playback itself, so there is no scope for doing comskip etc. If they add the ability to run user apps in the future, and myself or martin get native client working, then this sort of thing may be added.

sub
2008-01-04, 05:24 PM
You could try the attached patch to see if helps with any roughness of the menu images. You'd also need to add the following setting in config.xml and experiment with different values (0-100): <PCHImageQuality>75</PCHImageQuality>

mvallevand
2008-01-04, 09:17 PM
You could try the attached patch to see if helps with any roughness of the menu images. You'd also need to add the following setting in config.xml and experiment with different values (0-100): <PCHImageQuality>75</PCHImageQuality>

There doesn't seem to be anything attached.

Martin

sub
2008-01-04, 10:51 PM
Ah sorry, here is that attachment.

mvallevand
2008-01-05, 12:23 AM
I'm not a web guy but here is a page with the four images (I haven't added any patch yet). You will see the original JPEG, and the captured svideo from the PCH, the MVP in the PCH MODE, and finally the MVP in emulation mode.

http://mvallevand.googlepages.com/pch.html

Martin

sub
2008-01-05, 12:31 AM
If you do a Start -> Run, then execute "%TEMP%\pch.jpg" it'll show you the picture it supplied to the Popcorn Hour.

Here is one of mine, and is pretty much what I see on the PH. I definitely dont have the rough text yours is showing.

sub
2008-01-05, 12:36 AM
I suspect its something to do with the PH having poor image scaling. You may need to tweak the index.aspx.cs 'user agent' string that gets passed to GB-PVR so that it doesnt do any scaling for you. (I'm on PAL so have a different resolution)

mvallevand
2008-01-05, 12:37 AM
That is my original with 3 analog captures on my HVR 1600. But I get the same difference on my SD TV. I will try the change after dinner.

Martin

sub
2008-01-05, 12:37 AM
If you look at http://www.gbpvr.com/pch2.avi (5MB), you'll see what I get on the PH as captured on a HVR1800.

The capturing and coversion to xvid softens the picture a little, but you should be able to see that my text is better than your screen captures.

jksmurf
2008-01-05, 01:18 AM
Sorry, but mine (without a PCH, but using the mvpmc PCH dongle on the MVP) is definitely "consierably uglier" than any of those.

Maybe it it because I have an MVP plugged into an HDTV.... it's like a poor quality scan blown up, you can see the cloudy pixels around the text. Problem is I'd need to take a digital camera to it to capture it... :-)

k.

sub
2008-01-05, 01:32 AM
Did you try that patch from the last page and setting <PCHImageQuality>100</PCHImageQuality>? I'd be interested to hear if it makes any difference for you.

mvallevand
2008-01-05, 01:59 AM
I updated the files on the link http://mvallevand.googlepages.com/pch.html and the second file is now the Syabas recommended 415 for NTSC and the third is now the default 496. Sub, does this need something from the patch to tweak it?

Martin

sub
2008-01-05, 03:31 AM
Try editing index.aspx.cs, and comment out this line:


//line = "Syabas/x/14-POP Firefox/0.8.0+ (gaya1 TV Res720x576; Browser Res624x496-32bits; Res720x576;)";

Unfortunately my test TV doesnt do NTSC so dont have any easy way to test this myself.

mvallevand
2008-01-05, 03:46 AM
Commenting it out I got exactly the same result which isn't surprising because when I sniffed it it was the same as I changed it to, 720x480 and 624x416-32bits

Martin

sub
2008-01-05, 03:54 AM
Try changing the <img> tag in index.aspx from:


<img src="/getscreen.aspx?i=<% GetTimestamp();%>" width="<% GetWidth(); %>" height="<% GetHeight(); %>" />
to

<img src="/getscreen.aspx?i=<% GetTimestamp();%>"/>

Also check the resolution of %TEMP%\pch.jpg.

mvallevand
2008-01-05, 04:09 AM
Same, and still 624x416 (although 24 bit bit that is always the case). It is better since I went to 416 but never to the MVP quality, so my web comparson is valid. Its seems more that the text font is smaller then in emulation mode and not the entire resolution

Martin

sub
2008-01-05, 04:17 AM
The original source picture that GB-PVR is sending to the PH looks find though, so it sounds like it is something funny to do with resizing that is occurring at the PH on your NTSC setup.

Other than the steps we've already tried, I'm not really sure we determine when the PH is doing exactly. We might need to do something like find a TV test pattern and crop (no resize) it to 624x416, then display that image. These test patterns are typically made up of parallel horizontal/vertical lines etc, and tend to simply the process of spotting flaws.

Does you TV do PAL? If so, it might be worth test it to see if looks better for you. (just to help us understand)

BTW, when you look at my recorded video, does the text look better to you? Just want to confirm my thinking that it seems to be something you're having problems with that I'm not.

jksmurf
2008-01-05, 04:42 AM
You could try the attached patch to see if helps with any roughness of the menu images. You'd also need to add the following setting in config.xml and experiment with different values (0-100): <PCHImageQuality>75</PCHImageQuality>

Where should I put this in the config.xml, does it have a special section?

k.

sub
2008-01-05, 04:45 AM
It can go pretty much anywhere.

mvallevand
2008-01-05, 04:52 AM
Is there any way to increase the quality, it is only 14k.

As a jpg this test card looks good as is. When I resize to 624x416 it is not as good.

http://www.barney-wol.net/testpatterns/wols4x3.jpg

EDIT: I don't think this is worth considering a GBPVR issue. I think it might be either an NTSC thing or perhaps my PCH. I don't have a PAL TV but I can coerce and older machine into capturing PAL. Unfortunately my HVR 1600 has real issues with PAL or it would be trivial.

Martin

sub
2008-01-05, 05:57 AM
Is there any way to increase the quality, it is only 14k.Yes, see that patch and config.xml setting I posted earlier in this thread.

sub
2008-01-05, 06:01 AM
If you take GB-PVR's web server out of the mix, and just place the %TEMP%\pch.jpg file in a different web server that you can view from the PH, then view the picture, what does the text look like?

mvallevand
2008-01-05, 06:21 AM
I increased the quality to 100 (repeat VirtualStore 3x) no change in GBPVR however when I load pch.jpg as an image the quality is better but it doesn't fill the screen.

EDIT: I added it to my sample page. Now I need this quality in PCH/GBPVR mode.

Martin

jksmurf
2008-01-05, 08:02 AM
Did you try that patch from the last page and setting <PCHImageQuality>100</PCHImageQuality>? I'd be interested to hear if it makes any difference for you.

Well, it looks "a little" better, at 75, but switching quickly between emulation and PCH modes (wicked stuff Martin, you can make a good comparison with the dongle) you can still see the dots, oddly very much only around the text, and the Icon images are not so sharp either.

Navigation "seems" however faster ???

Another observation is the whole screen seems to be a it higher, "TV Guide" text is half obscured at the top, e.g. when in the TV guide.

k.

mvallevand
2008-01-05, 09:42 PM
I will update that when I add sub's new features. I don't support the colour keys or live tv just yet.

OK , I have updated the GBPVR PCHServer test version on f mvpmc to support the livetv playlists and the colour keys. Here is the rference

http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php?p=249118&postcount=1

There are are few notes

1. Channel skipping doesn't work yet
2. You MUST hit a key after watching livetv to stop the recording.
3. Live TV from the main menu starts on the first channel

This mvpmc mode does support digital SD mpeg-ts streams in livetv.

Martin

ggee
2008-01-07, 02:47 AM
Sub and mvallevand, can we start another subforum for the PCH work? Really interesting to follow. Can't wait to see what happens.

Thanks,
Greg

sub
2008-01-07, 02:51 AM
Sub and mvallevand, can we start another subforum for the PCH work? I probably will, but I'll wait for a little bit - until its supported in an offical release, and I've deteremined if this is mechanism I'll stick with. For now I'm just playing around.

sub
2008-01-08, 04:33 PM
Martin, it might be worth trying the mod mention in this post to see if it improves the menu image quality on you PH: http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php?p=250899&postcount=75

mvallevand
2008-01-08, 06:49 PM
That looks promising, I'll try tonight

Martin.

mvallevand
2008-01-08, 11:21 PM
The image looks like the good image in the image browser but it won't scale to the screen and I've played with the user-agent string as mentioned earlier.

Martin

mvallevand
2008-01-09, 04:08 AM
I've updated my pch image page with the image rendered with < body background = ... /> It has the same problem as the meta content. There is something wrong with the way background images are drawn by the PCH (note the Image_Load text at the top left.

http://mvallevand.googlepages.com/gbpvr3.jpg

All shots http://mvallevand.googlepages.com/pch.html

Martin

Lasoul
2008-01-10, 06:43 AM
I have got a problem with GBPVR and the PH while watching live tv. When I watch a movie GBPVR stops after 45min with streaming and starts from the point I started watching the channel. I have to reselect the channel to start the correct stream again. It looks like there is a maximum filesize-buffer or something like that for watching Live-TV.
I have enough diskspace so that should be no problem. Does anyone know what is causing this behaviour?

sub
2008-01-10, 07:19 PM
I'm away from home at the moment, so cant double check it here, but can you reproduce the problem then zip and attach the GB-PVR logs subdirectory so I can take a look?

mvallevand
2008-01-22, 05:41 AM
As a follow-up to this thread I've updated my screen capture page http://mvallevand.googlepages.com/pch.html with default output from the 080117 beta (the 2nd image) and you can see how much clearer it is than my first attempt (the 3rd image) and it is now the same as browsing the pch.jpg. Not as nice as the last two from the mvp but it is much nicer now

Without a doubt the PCH 100 is still in beta.

For the mvpmc PCH emulator I forgot to mention that I did some testing and my initial speed problems where because I installed the PCHServer incorrectly. Roughly I get

2-3 screens per second with emulation mode
1 screen in just under a second on the PCH
1 screen every 2 seconds with the PCH emulator.

Martin