PDA

View Full Version : GameZone 2.9 wishlist



idkpmiller
2008-09-20, 12:02 AM
I am looking for any suggestions for GameZone 2.9

I was going to virtualise the whole thing and allow multiple instances of GameZone with user set names to be run, however this has hit a dead end in that I cannot determine the name of the dll file that is being run from within the dll itself, normally you can but not it would seem as a plugin.

So far I know of:

1. SMS like key support needs fixing
2. Dosbox may need some work
3. Images for files shown in the filelist - will be done as part of v3.0
4. Menubutton order up down selection fix required. - Done
5. Main menu wraparound - Done
6. Xtraemulators support using the display nane of the selected file (used in Final Burn Alpha) - Done



And thats all.

If that is it it would seem that I should just look at doing a minor version uppdate as its only bug fixes no additional features.

Give me your ideas and I will see what I can do.

Cheers

5l4k3r
2008-09-22, 08:58 AM
I have thought of something that would be more of an interface change than anything. Would it be possible to show an image for a file (as it was in focus) if one is set? I was thinking to the left above the image of the system being emulated.

An even cooler thought would be if files could be selected by selecting images (if set) instead of just file names.

idkpmiller
2008-09-23, 03:17 AM
easier way would be to add image to the left of the filename in the filelist, would this do?

5l4k3r
2008-09-23, 05:20 AM
easier way would be to add image to the left of the filename in the filelist, would this do?

Yes, this would do just fine. Would you still be able to have the popup window with the image after you select the file?

Also got to thinking it would be nice to have the popup window be able to show the image and some more info in it kind of like the information for MAME. Perhaps something that we could edit from the plugin, perhaps an xml file?

idkpmiller
2008-09-24, 10:45 PM
can't see why not?

I would say the image in the filelist would be user enabled via the config applet. whereas the popup window is user enabled from within gamezone app. does that make sense?

5l4k3r
2008-09-25, 12:34 AM
can't see why not?

I would say the image in the filelist would be user enabled via the config applet. whereas the popup window is user enabled from within gamezone app. does that make sense?

Makes sense to me.

ViperDragon
2008-10-04, 07:33 AM
I don't know if it's possible, but a way to save the current GameZone configuration would be nice. I reinstalled everything fresh on a new media center and forgot how much "fun' setting everything back up again was! :-)

When reorganizing the game categories, would it be possible to make it so when I select a category and press UP or DOWN I don't have to keep re-selecting it to keep moving it? It would be nice to be able to select a category and just press UP or DOWN repeatably to move it.

Can you fix it so you can wrap around on the Emulator selection menu? Make it so when I get to the top of the list I can still keep going up to get to the bottom selection instead of having to go back down. I know this works fine when scrolling thru the ROM listings.

Could it be possible in the PC Games section to make it so each game put in there could have their own graphic icon instead of all having the same PC icon showing? I have PC games such as Frets on Fire, NFS, LEGO Star Wars and it would be nice to have the ability to put the game logo for each one. I don't know, but would it be possible to have an option in the config where you could choose a different icon for the systems if desired? I know you can do this by renaming the graphic icon file of your choice to the same name of the graphic file set in the Skins directory.

Thanks for all your hard work on this plugin. It is definitely a must have and you have done a great job with it!

ViperDragon

ViperDragon
2008-10-04, 07:38 AM
Sorry, Double post!

idkpmiller
2008-10-04, 12:04 PM
I don't know if it's possible, but a way to save the current GameZone configuration would be nice. I reinstalled everything fresh on a new media center and forgot how much "fun' setting everything back up again was! :-)

Having recently gone through a similar experience myself I know where you are coming from, the testing would be a killer though :-(



When reorganizing the game categories, would it be possible to make it so when I select a category and press UP or DOWN I don't have to keep re-selecting it to keep moving it? It would be nice to be able to select a category and just press UP or DOWN repeatably to move it.


I agree with this one, I also find it a PITA and keep forgetting to fix it :-( will add it to the list



Can you fix it so you can wrap around on the Emulator selection menu? Make it so when I get to the top of the list I can still keep going up to get to the bottom selection instead of having to go back down. I know this works fine when scrolling thru the ROM listings.


I assume you mean the menybuttons which dont wrap unfortunately I rely on wizuiutilities for the menubutton creation and last time I chaecked Wiz had not included wraparound in his DLL :-(



Could it be possible in the PC Games section to make it so each game put in there could have their own graphic icon instead of all having the same PC icon showing? I have PC games such as Frets on Fire, NFS, LEGO Star Wars and it would be nice to have the ability to put the game logo for each one. I don't know, but would it be possible to have an option in the config where you could choose a different icon for the systems if desired? I know you can do this by renaming the graphic icon file of your choice to the same name of the graphic file set in the Skins directory.


Personally I know it would look more professional and be a tiny bit slicker to do what you are suggesting, but the amount of effort is quite considerable and the valu is quite limited as it does work already with a simpy copy and rename of an image. As for the PC Games, XtraEmulators allows this feature and is IMO far better than PCGames.



Thanks for all your hard work on this plugin. It is definitely a must have and you have done a great job with it!

ViperDragon

Thanks for the great ideas, sorry I cant take them all up. but will add the ones I can.

Cheers

Dava
2008-10-05, 11:32 AM
Hi,

I would like the system to scan subfolders from the main ROMs folder (specifically for MAME) so that I can separate out specific games types.

For instance, I have just got a lightgun and would like to have a lightgun subfolder off of MAME\ROMs with the ROMs in.

If during a database rebuild, gamezone comes across a subfolder as above, I would like it to appear at the top of the list of MAME ROMs in the UI.

Currently, I have added the ROM subfolder under extra emulators and use the same MAME.exe to run them. This way works, but I do not get the MAME info from the database.


I would also like the snap for the game to come up whilst selecting as someone else posted.

idkpmiller
2008-10-08, 08:39 AM
Dava,

If you add your main directory for the mame roms and say call it roms, then ass another rompath which points to you folder with all your light gun games and call it say lightgun. When you go into mame you should see two folders one called roms the other called lightgun. does that not help?

Cheers

JavaWiz
2008-10-09, 03:36 AM
I assume you mean the menybuttons which dont wrap unfortunately I rely on wizuiutilities for the menubutton creation and last time I chaecked Wiz had not included wraparound in his DLL :-(

Attached is a WizUiHelper.DLL that provides an AutoWrap property to the WizUiButtonList. I have not released this version yet, but it should be fully compatible with prior versions. At the point you create the buttonlist, simply set AutoWrap=true;

Dava
2008-10-09, 05:22 AM
Dava,

... then ass another rompath which points to you folder...

Cheers

I have never assed a rompath before, but that sounds exactly what I was looking for, I will try it. Thanks.:D

idkpmiller
2008-10-09, 05:39 AM
damn my eyesight, I'm partially blind which is why you will see I disappear for a while when my sight is really bad and then return when I can see enough to produce code that may work.

But to be honest "ass" and rompaths seems to work well to me. perhaps with a prefix of "Pain in the" :D

idkpmiller
2008-10-09, 05:41 AM
Attached is a WizUiHelper.DLL that provides an AutoWrap property to the WizUiButtonList. I have not released this version yet, but it should be fully compatible with prior versions. At the point you create the buttonlist, simply set AutoWrap=true;

JW, you are the man!
I will implement this in GZ 2.9 as I must admit its been a pet peev of my own, amazing how the simple things in life can become so important :D

Dava
2008-10-13, 08:39 AM
This worked a treat, I made a supposition that each emu had to have just 1 path but this functionality is great.

5l4k3r
2009-01-02, 01:53 PM
I am looking for any suggestions for GameZone 2.9

I was going to virtualise the whole thing and allow multiple instances of GameZone with user set names to be run, however this has hit a dead end in that I cannot determine the name of the dll file that is being run from within the dll itself, normally you can but not it would seem as a plugin.

So far I know of:

1. SMS like key support needs fixing
2. Dosbox may need some work
3. Images for files shown in the filelist - will be done as part of v3.0
4. Menubutton order up down selection fix required. - Done
5. Main menu wraparound - Done
6. Xtraemulators support using the display nane of the selected file (used in Final Burn Alpha) - Done



And thats all.

If that is it it would seem that I should just look at doing a minor version uppdate as its only bug fixes no additional features.

Give me your ideas and I will see what I can do.

Cheers

It would be nice if when you back out of a rom directory, it would remember which system you were on. Kind of like what was discussed in http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?t=39648 .

Also would be nice (if possible) to back out only one screen when hitting the Esc. button. An example would be backing out from the roms screen to system screen with one press of Esc, then from system screen out of the plugin with another press, instead of all the way out of the plugin from the roms screen.

Thanks much!

idkpmiller
2009-01-02, 11:43 PM
Currently GameZone doesn't handle the ESC key so hence why you see what you do; which is that GBPVR is actually acting on the ESC key rather than GameZone. Therefore the feature you are after is to implemnt the "back" action by using the ESC key, does that sound correct?

Cheers
.

5l4k3r
2009-01-03, 12:29 AM
Currently GameZone doesn't handle the ESC key so hence why you see what you do; which is that GBPVR is actually acting on the ESC key rather than GameZone. Therefore the feature you are after is to implemnt the "back" action by using the ESC key, does that sound correct?

Cheers
.

Yes, that sounds exactly like what I'm after. :)

idkpmiller
2009-01-03, 05:21 AM
Let me know how this works for you, report back any issues as I have only don very basic testing.

Cheers

5l4k3r
2009-01-03, 01:25 PM
Pressing Esc does bring me to the emulator selection screen with one press no matter which subdirectory I'm in or how deep that subdirectory is. Thank you very much for this functionality! :D

I was wondering if it would be possible to go back one screen at a time from a folder more than one subdirectory deep? Right now I have Adobe set to open under my XtraEmulators. I have a directory of Manuals/2600 Manuals/Pack in Comics/. I also have games set up in NES as NES/R.O.B./, and NES/LightGun/, and NES/PowerPad/. I was hoping it wouldn't be too much trouble for you to add code to back out one screen with each press of the Esc button. If would be a convenience factor for anyone with games or manuals sorted into more than one subdirectory using the Esc button to go back.

Once again, thank you very much for your work on this plugin! :)

idkpmiller
2009-01-03, 11:20 PM
Once GameZone gets into multiple directory structures the back-out mechanism changes from the menu buttons to the list itself. the normall way of backing out of a directory is to select the [..] entry that is added at the top of the list of files. it is possible that the logic for pressing the escape could check where you are and act accordingly by activating the "Back" menubutton or the [..] list item I will see how difficult this would be to change.
Its a beutiful day here today so I will be requested to join the world of the outdoors with the rest of my family, perhaps I will get chance to check this evening.

Cheers

5l4k3r
2009-01-04, 12:21 AM
I hope you have a great day with your family! ENJOY!