PDA

View Full Version : Want to be more green with server



steeb
2009-09-10, 08:04 PM
Hi all,

just wanted to check I've got this right, have looked through some threads.

Currently I have been running my server 24/7, want to be able to put it into standby. Running MVPMC dongle with 3 x MVP's.

When experimenting the server goes into standby for less than 1 minute then wakes again. If an MVP is left on rather than powered down will it have this effect? Or should I be looking elsewhere to find out what is waking the box?

Cheers

Steeb

mvallevand
2009-09-10, 11:09 PM
It depends how you configured WOL. If you have --startup emulate and specify --emulate IP and you have your NIC set to wake on any traffic, if you exit mvpmc by simply crashing the restart might wake your PC.

Why not simply unplug all your MVP's to see if they are the cause?

Mrin

steeb
2009-09-11, 12:47 AM
Hi Martin,

dongle is configured via share to --startup emulate (server IP).

Are there any specific traffic settings I should change on NIC, I think I had everything set to wake!!

Do I have to unplug MVP's or will simply turning them off via remote do the job?

So theoretically this could be possible (some MVP's get left on, I try to turn them off but others just leave on!)

Cheers

Steeb

martint123
2009-09-11, 12:46 PM
There is usually a setting in device manager for teh network device, power management, "only allow management stations to bring the computer out of standby".
This determines is any packet or a specific WOL packet wakes the machine up.

It's such a long time since I ran an MVP that I can't remember if Martins dongle can send a WOL packet - I'm fairly sure it could be configured for this.

HarryH3
2009-09-11, 01:46 PM
IIRC, mvpmc does indeed send a WOL packet as it boots. It then pings the server, up to 30 times, before downloading the dongle file. If the server hasn't responded after 30 pings, mvpmc gives up. :(

steeb, you may be able to find some clues as to what is waking the system up by looking in the windows system event viewer.

mvallevand
2009-09-11, 01:54 PM
mvpmc doesn't send a WOL on boot. After a successful connection it remembers the MAC address and sends a WOL and when you exit emulation mode it will send a WOL when you go back

There are a couple of user definable times (time to ping then time to load GBPVR) 30 seconds is a default

Problems can come up if your server kills the connection, instead of using the Go Back key. Sometimes mvpmc will crash and this might send an WOL I am not sure if I used protected memory or not.

Martin

newyankee
2009-09-11, 01:54 PM
I have been running mvpmc with my 2 mvp's and WOL for 2 (?) years now without problems. mvpmc sends ping, then a WOL packet on power-up, this will wake up the server from standby or hibernation.

Leaving the mvp idle (just menu) will not prevent the server from entering standby or hibernation. However, you won't recognize the server has gone into standby, the menu on the mvp will still be up but frozen. You then need to power cycle the mvp to wake up the server. I find this a small price to pay compared to having the server up all the time.

You need to set the network controller on the server to "only allow management stations to bring the computer out of standby", as as said by HarryH3, otherwise any network traffic will wake up the server and it would still be running more or less 24/7.

steeb
2009-09-11, 10:19 PM
Thanks all so far, need to go away and have a play and see what is and isn't working on this. Has been something I've wanted to do for a couple of years now but other things kept getting in the way! Really would love to have this now as is silly running server 24/7 for every reason imaginable.

Cheers

Steeb

steeb
2009-09-11, 11:33 PM
Back again after initial playing. Advice needed if poss.

If "only allow management stations to bring the computer out of standby" is not set it does seem like anything on the network rises the machine up within 20 seconds of it going into standby.

So this is obviously no good for a greenish machine!

If I enable "only allow management stations to bring the computer out of standby" then the only thing that seems to wake the machine is keyboard press or mouse twiddle, as far as the NIC goes nothing seems to want to wake the box. Reboot of MVP or trying to open a network folder from other box to server, NIC not like :-(

Am sure I have done everything in BIOS possible and this would be indicated by the fact that machine wakes easily on Network with "only allow management stations to bring the computer out of standby" disabled, no mouse twiddling on my part just some packets presumably from router keeping it alive?

Anything else I may have missed? Would love to get this going I've been hoping for this for ages!

Suggestions along the lines of get another NIC welcome and if that is the case then may be I will have to get one but it is a good NIC and my friend.......

All the best

Steeb

Jaggy
2009-09-11, 11:51 PM
From a message I found somewhere on the forums a long time ago: "I use WOL to wake my computer and it used to wake up all the time for any petty network traffic.
On the Power Management tab of the card, under "Allow this device to bring the computer out of standby." is an option, "Only allow management stations to bring the computer out of standby."
Checking this made it so it never wakes via the NIC unless I tell it to with WOL packet.
For me, the only drawback of this setting is that accessing the the web server or file share won't wake it up, not a biggie though."

I found this worked for me for the MVP with mvpmc as it sends a WOL but nothing else on the lan would wake it.

mvallevand
2009-09-11, 11:58 PM
Reboot of MVP or trying to open a network folder from other box to server, NIC not like :-(

Correct you don't want to reboot mvpmc. You want to exit to the main menu with the Go Back key when you are finished using it. Not running emulation mode is greener anyway, it generates unnecessary disk activity (logs) and network traffic when not in use.

Martin

martint123
2009-09-12, 09:28 AM
If you want to wake the server from another PC then WOL.EXE with it's MAC address as an argument should wake it (it does for me). http://www.gammadyne.com/cmdline.htm

steeb
2009-09-12, 11:05 AM
Thanks all for input,

I can start playing with being able to WOL from another PC once I've got the MVP's waking the server but still stumped as to why the MVP with MVPMC is not causing the server to WOL. This is the 1st hurdle! Should have said using standby S3. Is that viable? Should I try hibernate? What is best option?

Cheers

Steeb

steeb
2009-09-12, 11:10 AM
Hmmmm,

have just seen that Box did not wake for scheduled tasks overnight as I believe it should with XP, guess if it is not doing this then must have something wrong set up on Box before I even consider LAN?

Cheers

Steeb

martint123
2009-09-12, 02:53 PM
can start playing with being able to WOL from another PC once I've got the MVP's waking the server

I only mentioned wake from PC as it is a known good working method that would show the hardware was waking up.... There again, your post after that one shows it doesn't :eek:

pBS
2009-09-13, 12:48 AM
my net card [attansic] has a setting called shutdownwakeup that if turned on, will wake server as soon as it goes to sleep...[it's probably not on other cards tho]

but yea, it sounds like something else is stuffing things up if it didn't wake properly upon schedule...you can see gbpvr ask windows to wake in logs rec. service-native log...

steeb
2009-09-15, 04:11 PM
Box now wakes up for scheduled tasks so that side of things seems to be OK now. Had a look round back of box, when it goes into standby (S3) Green Light on NIC goes out so guess like this it would never WOL? Anyone know why this would happen?

Cheers

Steeb

HarryH3
2009-09-15, 04:23 PM
Some NIC's don't support WOL at all. :( You'll need to find the specs for your particular model to see if yours does or not.

steeb
2009-09-15, 04:54 PM
Thanks for reply,

Mobo supports WOL, NIC supports WOL, so weird that light goes out methinks. As to why I am clueless!:confused:

steeb
2009-09-16, 11:35 PM
Giving up with being green for now :-(

Tried my best but was watching pre-recorded show on server earlier and it shut down though I was watching.

Too much now makes my head hurt. I'll just keep on watching threads!

Shame really wanted to go standby!

Cheers

Steeb