PDA

View Full Version : NLite for Mac



sub
2018-05-27, 09:42 PM
I've had a nlite client for the Mac for a couple of years, but I'd never packaged it up and released it (because I know nothing about packaging Mac apps). I was using it over the weekend and thought I really should try to make it available.

So if someone has got a Mac and want to help me see if it works, you can download the image from https://nextpvr.com/nlite.dmg

To use it, just open the dmg file, and click on the nlite executable. With any luck you should see the familiar NextPVR interface a few seconds later.

mikeh49
2018-05-27, 10:08 PM
Gave it a go, got "no mountable file systems" when double clicking the dmg. I'm not a Mac expert, so may be operator error. Dunno.

sub
2018-05-28, 12:37 AM
Thanks for the giving it a go - not really sure why you'd get that message. I did a quick google on possible causes, but it's not really any clearer. We'll see if others encounter the same error.

I might need to do a bit more reading on how to package up Mac apps.

gEd
2018-05-29, 11:28 PM
No luck here (2 months before I have to hand my Mac back I might add, having asked for this 2 years ago!!)

I first had to tell it to "open anyway" as it is from an ungrecognised developer and block by default on my machine

https://support.apple.com/kb/ph25088?locale=en_US

$ /Volumes/binaries/nlite ; exit;
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2
Referenced from: /Volumes/binaries/nlite
Reason: image not found
Abort trap: 6
logout
Saving session...
...copying shared history...
...saving history...truncating history files...
...completed.

[Process completed]

http://www.mameworld.info/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=246819&page=0&view=expanded&sb=7&o=&vc=1

sub
2018-05-30, 01:19 AM
No luck here (2 months before I have to hand my Mac back I might add, having asked for this 2 years ago!!)

I first had to tell it to "open anyway" as it is from an ungrecognised developer and block by default on my machine

https://support.apple.com/kb/ph25088?locale=en_US

$ /Volumes/binaries/nlite ; exit;
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2
Referenced from: /Volumes/binaries/nlite
Reason: image not found
Abort trap: 6
logout
Saving session...
...copying shared history...
...saving history...truncating history files...
...completed.

[Process completed]

http://www.mameworld.info/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=246819&page=0&view=expanded&sb=7&o=&vc=1Thanks for giving it a go. Can you try http://nextpvr.com/nlite.dmg again? I've updated it to include the SDL framework in it.

mikeh49
2018-05-30, 02:41 AM
Same "no mountable file system" on the 29/30 May version. I'm on El Capitan 10.11.6. Found this, does it make any sense:

https://forum.qt.io/topic/86672/qt-dmg-no-mountable-file-systems-on-el-capitan-backwards-compatibility-issue/4

Or it might be an app store issue?

I also tried the command line hdiutil, but got the same error.

gEd
2018-05-30, 08:35 PM
Thanks for giving it a go. Can you try http://nextpvr.com/nlite.dmg again? I've updated it to include the SDL framework in it.

no change - same error. It's the new version as I have the SDL folders within Framework
for giggles I tried to run the SDL2 file

$ /Volumes/binaries/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2 ; exit;
-bash: /Volumes/binaries/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2: cannot execute binary file
logout
Saving session...
...copying shared history...
...saving history...truncating history files...
...completed.

imilne
2018-06-01, 08:57 AM
no change - same error. It's the new version as I have the SDL folders within Framework
for giggles I tried to run the SDL2 file

$ /Volumes/binaries/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2 ; exit;
-bash: /Volumes/binaries/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2: cannot execute binary file
logout
Saving session...
...copying shared history...
...saving history...truncating history files...
...completed.

I'm seeing the same error on a 10.13.3 macbook.

I no next to nothing about using a mac though, despite having this one lying in the office for occasional testing of our software, but happy to help where I can...

Iain

mvallevand
2018-09-14, 03:33 AM
If anyone wants to have a go at getting this working (and can open the dmg) let me know. I am very new to a Mac but I can see some issues that I think I can work around.

Martin

mikeh49
2018-09-14, 01:53 PM
I can give it a try but not sure what you mean by open the dmg. I just tried again and got the "no mountable file systems" error. I'm Mac ignorant, so not familiar with the terminology. dmg = disk image? Can be mounted as a separate (from the installing system) file system? Can be unpacked like a Windows install file?

I might be of no help.

BTW, El Capitan 10.11.6. Too old?

mvallevand
2018-09-14, 05:56 PM
I don't think it is too old. I can see if a zip file will work. I am working on that at the moment, but PM me your email and I will get you the file.

Martin

mikeh49
2018-09-15, 02:37 AM
With Martin's help I have Nlite working on a Macbook Air. Looks good and it seems like basics of live TV. TV guide and playing recordings work. I need to work out the keyboard commands and touchpad actions to fully control it. It looks great.

sub
2018-09-15, 03:28 AM
Great - good job!

mikeh49
2018-09-15, 02:27 PM
Terminal console log attached. Missed this last night. Might be something noteworthy there?

sub
2018-09-15, 05:56 PM
The nlite messages in there look fine. It also contains some vlc messages - it's not uncommon to get some vlc messages, indicating things it doesn't like about the broadcasters stream, or any blips you have in reception (like these TS Continuity errors).

mvallevand
2018-09-15, 06:42 PM
As sub posted there are a lot of stderr messages in the logs too. You might might to change the .sh file to be &> /dev/null Also consider adding an & at the end of the command so it launches outside the console.

Martin

mikeh49
2018-09-15, 07:24 PM
OK. I always forget the end of line & and then wonder why the console is tied up.