NextPVR Forums

Full Version: What would you suggest?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am in the process of researching what i need to build my own pvr. I haven't puchased my video card yet and would like to know what i need and what i should get. Thought that I could benefit from others out there who have already set theirs up. I will be hooking up to a starchoice reciever for the imput and will be running a 3.0 ghz, running xp with hyper threading, 915 chipset. I have searched the forums but have not found a list of things I will need for this to work. I have picked up on some things from the forums including the need for a usb-uirt to be able to change channels on my dish. Although i consider myself to be more that capable to get around and build or work on computers, I am self taught and cannot write any script.

Thanks for any suggestions

Jim
morning Jim, welcome to the forum :->

You sound in a similar position to myself a few months back, no real programming experience but self taught 'fiddler' willing to give everything else a crack to finetune it all...

The basic spec youve listed sounds good. A lot of the time the RAM and overall speed of your system is more critical than the actual grunt of your machine, so most people use at least a full gb of RAM, along with fast HDDs.

for the video card, id say the important aspects are in no particular order, DX9 compatible, Video Out quality (if youre planning to hook up a TV) and if your PVR is going to be based in the lounge, one thats either passivly cooled or got a very quiet fan on it is also desirable. Some of the posters here put their spec in their signature, that can be a quick way of figuring what level of spec you should be looking at. you can get away with a very good integrated graphics, but not many of these are DX9 compatible. a 'full-on gaming' spec card isnt really needed.