NextPVR Forums

Full Version: A Total Virgin Needing Advice
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey gbpvr clan,

I am a total noob to the whole PVR/Freevo and would really appreciate it if someone out there could help me with what hardware and setup they would recommend to someone starting out fresh. there are so many options and combo's, it's hard to nail down what the best option is for me. I will try and give you some details to help you in answering my question.

*I am leaning toward the PVR-350, I like the S-video out, but heard it can only handle MPEG-2 datastreams and nothing else (ie windows menu, EPG software etc).... is this true? If so, are there solutions or workarounds with gbpvr or would a PVR-250/150 +MediaMVP be a better alternative? What are the real advantages and disadvantages to each card in the Hauppage line

*if possible, it would be nice to have the PC in another room. Is this still viable if I decide on the PVR-350 (ie. is remote IR or RF)? Also I have the necessary hardware to go wireless (g router and bridge), but is 802.11g fast enough, and reliable?
*should I be considering other cards outside the Hauppage line (eg Plextor, or ATI)
*Currently I don't see a need to get multiple tuners, but can be convinced otherwise if someone can give me a good reason to go that direction

Any input you have would be of tremendous help, I'm itching to start my winter project.

SF
I use 801.11g to go from the pc under the tv to my main pc and it works fine. I get the occasional blip but preferable to using cables.