NextPVR Forums

Full Version: recommendations for new build..
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all, this is my first PVR build, i have been wanting to get around to this for some time now. I have been eying GBPVR for a few months and i think i am ready to make the plunge.

I already have some spare items around the house I plan on using for my build:

1. XP pro
2. 2800+ AMD (barton socket A)
3. 512 MB DDR3200 Kingston Value Ram
4. 400GB UATA Seagate
5. GBPVR (*FREE)

PARTS TO BUY:

1. Power Supply: i was thinking of the seasonic 380W ($77; newegg) I have used Antec's for over 40 builds in the past several years, but the price and reviews on how quiet this PS is seem right for this project.
2. Tuner? i was leaning towards Hauppage, i would ideally want dual tuning capability, so its seems either two 150 or one 500 card. definately want onboard mpeg2 decoder to take strain off CPU.
3. REmote definately need a remote, so many different posts regarding this issue still unsure on what would work best
4. CPU cooler something fanless, or zalman low RPM
5. MotherBoard if i stick with the Barton, then socket A otherwise i could go to a 754 or even 939 and get a new processor and try to keep the new processor $$$ around $100-150.
6. video Card no choices yet, woudl go fanless - outputting to my Harmon Kardon AVR 635 and then to a 32inch sony trinitron tube (old, not flat)
7. Case TBD, depends on how much everything else costs... i like the nmedia 200SA because it would blend superbly with the AVR 635 but since I want to run fanless lian li seems to have very well vented cases...silverstone has some nic offerings as well.