NextPVR Forums

Full Version: I'm new to all this, reccomendations?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new to the forums, and have been reccomended to try GBPVR. I'm building a new PC in the next month or so, and one of the big things I wanted was to get a TV Tuner and use it as a DVR.

I was all set to purchase Beyond TV tomorrow, but have been told to take a look at this. Just wondering if anyone could tell me some of the benefits of this over Beyond TV.

Also, if anyone could reccomend a great TV Tuner card that I could get that would work really well with it. I was looking at the Hauppauge PVR350 card, but am not sure.

Does anyone know if remotes come with any of the cards and if this program supports them.

Sorry for all the questions from a newbie, but thanks!

~J
Advantages of GBPVR
It's FREE
Support is second to none - direct from the developer Big Grin
Many plugins and skin options (see wiki)
Ability to use MVP as front end
Can do everything Beyond TV can (based on the feature list on their site)

Disadvantages of GBPVR
Erm...

Download and try it before parting with your hard earned cash - you won't go back!

The 350 is a great card (I have one) however, don't be disapointed if the TV out doesn't work reliably - some people have no problems others (like myself) have never got it to work well. You may also want to have a look at the the 150 and 500 (2 150s). The 350 (as do most) ship with a remote.

Also, where do you live? BeyondTV only appears to support EPG in US and Canada...
I'm now confused as to whether with the Hauppauge 500 you can record a program and watch another both through a coax cable line. If that's not the case, I'd probably be interested in an HD TV tuner card, but one that definitely works well with GBPVR, and possibly sagetv or beyondtv. I would purchase the Firefly remote on the side also.