NextPVR Forums

Full Version: PVR/HTPC in Server Room with no client/MVP by the TV
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello All,

I am new to HTPC/PVR. Planning to assemble a HTPC with GBPVR and would like to have the GBPVR computer located in a Media room (100 feet away from the TV) and control it via a RF remote. I have basicall 2 different questions-

1. Why would I need a client/mediaMVP if I use a RF remote(presuming that it works for 100 feets) and a SVIDEO extender like http://www.svideo.com/svaudiobalun17.html. I am only trying to understand the technicality. From economic perspective, it is not worth it. But there are other similar products that lets you extend to 5-6 diffrent locations or to send component/DVI video. So if you have 4-5 TV, then this may be a solution.

2. What functionality/benefit I will be loose or will be invconvenient with such set-up when you don't have any mediaMPV/client device near your TV our Couch.

For example, using IR Remote not possible easily. Buring something onto DVD/CD becomes pain as you don't have a PC next to TV. You would need a seperate PC with DVD burner etc. I am trying to understand the limitation of this setup based on all the available plug-in/utilities and features of GBPVR available.

Regards,
Shaurya