NextPVR Forums

Full Version: OTA ATSC PVR solution
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I have been using a Hauppauge PVR 250 for several years with analog cable, along with GB-PVR (v0.99.5), primarily viewed with the MVP. I want to add OTA ATSC recording (“24” and “Heroes” are on at the same time here) - already have a HDTV and a big antenna pointing at Cheyenne Mt for a strong signal. Understand that ATSC recordings need to be converted/transcoded before the MVP can show it.

My question is, what are the pros and cons of these ATSC recording devices? Don’t really care about their analog side, just the ATSC side working with GB-PVR. I know about these three:

- Hauppauge HVR-950: USB, $60 at Circuit City this week; Hauppauge says I have to uninstall the PVR 250 before I install this, but I assume they mean WinTV2000.

- Hauppauge HVR 1600: PCI, $100, spotty reviews (Zeus and dgeezer’s exchanges here); one PCI slot left, but would rather not use it.

- Autumnwave OnAir GT: USB, $179, strong support from the company (Ryan Pertusio)

USA (Colorado Springs)
MSI K8N Neo4-F, 2 Gig
PCI Express Geforce 6200
AMD 64 X2 4400
XP Pro, ULead Video Studio 10, Video Redo
Quote:- Hauppauge HVR-950: USB, $60 at Circuit City this week; Hauppauge says I have to uninstall the PVR 250 before I install this, but I assume they mean WinTV2000.

- Hauppauge HVR 1600: PCI, $100, spotty reviews (Zeus and dgeezer’s exchanges here); one PCI slot left, but would rather not use it.

- Autumnwave OnAir GT: USB, $179, strong support from the company (Ryan Pertusio)
A couple of other things to factor in to your decision - The OnAir GT also does unencrypted digital cable aka QAM. The HVR1600 has the advantage of having the required hardware MPEG2 encoder, so can be used as analog capture card just as easily as your PVR250.