NextPVR Forums

Full Version: MVP + HDMI output/input + new LCD = Puzzle?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
OK, so I bought an LCD HD TV.

I understand it has up-conversion to 1080p and that SD DVD's look good on it as a result, so "apparently" I don't need to buy an up-conversion DVD player EXCEPT for said players HDMI interface, which apparently reduces the loss of PQ you get with Analog (or even S-Video)?

However I want to use GBPVR and I want to plug the MVP into it (at elast for now)
  • 1st off, I'm new at HD and HDMI. If I plug MVP Svideo out =>LCD, I will get an "OK" but not "great" picture right? Will it upcovert?
  • Is there any way (mod or hack) to go MVP=>LCDTV via HDMI? Is HDMI "that good"?
  • Is there a device DIFFERENT from the MVP, which would do this?
  • Can you run really LONG HDMI cables to the TV? (lets say I bought a Video Card with HDMI for my PC upstairs) or is there a Network Device with converts Cat5 to HDMI output through a wee box like the MVP?
  • At SOME stage I guess an HTPC PC with HDMI or at least DVI (For a DVI=>HDMI Converter) will be the best solution?
Ta!
k.
1the picture will be as good as the signal
2there is not point changing the signal back to digital(hdmi)once its been analog(svideo)well not cheaply anyway no little box will do it
long runs of hdmi will either work or it wont. Been digital you dont get cross talk like you do with analog causing colour mixing, funny shapes
with digital you either get one or zero
you can get repeaters that are powered and can extend it to 60 meters so they reckon
dvi and hdmi are the same signal
but a client pc is what you should be thinking really
stustunz Wrote:1the picture will be as good as the signal
2there is not point changing the signal back to digital(hdmi)once its been analog(svideo)well not cheaply anyway no little box will do it