NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Help me build a stand alone box from scratch
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
In talking with sub and others in the other thread, it seems there is a general concensus as to what a good system would be.

This will be my first PVR (but not my first built computer, I have lots of experience with that), so I'm putting this out there to see if anyone knows of a good hardware setup.

First a foremost, I'd like it to be mini-itx, or failing that as small as possible. This is going to be a stand alone box in a rack along with the stereo, video game consoles, etc. I plan to make it boot up to GB-PVR from startup so it goes right into 'Tivo' mode, since I will not be using the computer for anything but a PVR, and maybe some MP3 playing.

I don't really like the cube cases that are out there, and prefer a more standard desktop looking size. I'd like to be able to contain a 3.5" HD as I'd like to keep costs down.

Which brings me to my third and final condition. Since I'm only going to be using this as a PVR/MP3 player, I'd like to get away with the most cost-effective setup I can. I'm not concerned about games, or simultanious background programs running.

Based on what was said in the Via EPIA M series thread, what if i went with a mini-itx p4 board with a celeron 2.4 ghz and a pvr-350? Could i get away with less and have good performance? Any suggestions as to specific cases, boards, or setups?

Any input is much appreciated.

When I built my PVR. I wanted it to be as cheap as possible. I also wanted it to be silent. It also had to fit under my TV.

I looked at the mini-itx format but decided that it was a bit pricey and lacked in expansion. I was also concerned about the problems people where experienceing with stablitly and the poor TV out. I therefore went with the following. Most of it was 2nd hand off ebay.

Samcheer SC-101 Silver Tiny Tower Case £39.00