NextPVR Forums

Full Version: mvp not working!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all, just come across this forum looking to cure problem with my mvp i`ve just bought and was hoping for somw advice please. Can anybody tell me if i do in fact need a crossover cat 5 cable between my mvp and p.c instead of a straight through cable? I have no hub/router and am connecting the mvp directly to my p.c,(asus a7n8x deluxe motherboard/built in 3com and n/vidia l.a.) I would greatly appreciate any help/advice as i`m sick of it already [Image: rock.gif] [Image: laugh.gif] thanks very much
I'm not an expert in this, and havn't tried it myself, but I'm pretty sure you would need a crossover cable if you connecting directory from your PCs NIC socket to the MVP.
you definately would need a crossover cable to connect this device directly to your PC's Network interface.
thanks for the replys chaps, i`ll be off to but one tomorrow!!
Thought it was dodgy, thanks again, cheers [Image: smile.gif]

Yep defintely crossover, it says in the Instructions and on the box!

I need to get one too, I gave mine away when I got rid on my XBox. I never thought I'd need it again.
Beware:

It seems that the MVP doesn't like all types of network and cross cables. Also, cable lengths of more than 10 meters can be a problem when you use el-cheapo :-) cables.
So: buy a good one!

More particular (for the network experts ;-)): Do not us UTP cable with solid cores (wall) with RJ45 connectors on it, but use a good patch cable! Use solid core UTP only for in-wall use between patch panels and RJ45 wall outlets.