NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Wireless router
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Thinking of getting a a wireless router as will soon be forced to run my third cat-5 cable across the living room floor!

Connections required
* ADSL modem, preferably built in.
* A reliable and fast wired connection for my gaming PC (which sits next to the phone line).
* Wi-fi to a Nintendo Wii.
* Wi-fi to a GB-PVR PC in the living room.
* Wi-fi to a laptop.
* Spare wired connection for work laptop on occasions.

I already have a wireless card and USB dongle for the GB-PVR PC and the laptop so not interested in any bundles or "fast" wireless as they are both bog standard 802.11g. It's a small flat so distance/signal strength shouldn't be a problem.

Looking at this linksys one from amazon but I'm a noob when it comes to networks. Any thoughts from those "in the know"?

Thanks Smile
Should be fine, although Speedbooster is useless unless you've got devices that also have Linksys Speedbooster cards as well (the Wii probably doesn't, don't know about what's built into your laptop). If you don't, then save some money and go one model down (i.e. without Speedbooster). So instead of getting the WRT54GS (which this model appears to be), just get the WRT54G and that should be fine. This guy doesn't have a built in ADSL modem, though.

If you can, try to get the WRT54GL. It's essentially the same as the regular WRT54G but a) it runs the Linux OS (not that important, only really important if you want to run third-party firmwares) and b) has twice as much RAM (makes it worth it). The extra RAM helps if you do bittorrent and other peer-to-peer stuff as it can handle more connections reliably. Costs about the same usually too. Doing a search on amazon.co.uk shows that it's only 6 pounds more. I think it's worth it for a router that's a smidge more robust.