NextPVR Forums

Full Version: MVP and LIVE TV
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new to building HTPC. I just bought a Hauppauge NOVA-S DVB-s card. First I tought using a seperate mini-itx pc for that process... but then I tought of puting on my big dual 2 core machine the DVB-S card and GBPVR and then using some MVP in the different room. I was wondering if its possible to watch LIVE TV from these boxes and what do you get as a quality and speed for an MVP???

Thanks for all you help ion advance
Quote:I was wondering if its possible to watch LIVE TV from these boxes and what do you get as a quality and speed for an MVP???
Yes, you can watch live tv on an MVP. Its a little slow change channels on a digital capture device (about 3 to 4 seconds), but definitely possible.
Interesting since I tought the signal on DVB-S is already in mpeg2 I tought it would take less time since it doesnt need to be converted...
That signal needs to be remuxed to a program stream file before the MVP can play it though. The mux filters which do this job add about 2 - 3 seconds to the process.
So compare to a normal satellite receiver you would say that its twice the time for channel changing... ????
I would say changing channels with a combination of an MVP and a digital capture device takes about 3 - 4 seconds.
Having a powerful computer wont change a thing??? What could reduce the time of channel changing to a respectable 1 seconds? So that is comparable to a a FTA set-up-boxe...
Quote:Having a powerful computer wont change a thing???
No.

Quote:What could reduce the time of channel changing to a respectable 1 seconds? So that is comparable to a a FTA set-up-boxe...
I dont think you going to get anywhere near that regardless of what you do.