NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Via Epia
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Good day everyone,

First off, I love GBPVR. I've been using it for over 4 years. Absolutely love it. However, this is what I'd like to do.

I am not using GBPVR as my video output. I'm using it strictly as a scheduler and to record TV shows. I use my Xbox (XBMC) to watch the video. (Please don't smite me).

I'd like to install GBPVR on a VIA EPIA box. Some of the VIAs have video input, does GBPVR work well with those video inputs? Being that I'm using GBPVR JUST to record shows and transcode videos to XVID, would GBPVR work well with a VIA board? (I know I've seen a number of posts about VIA use, I'm wondering what everyone recommends, and any gotchas).

I'd like my VIA box to run a vmware server as well, so I'm wanting to have something with a 'little' more power.

Any recommendations?

Thanks!!!
I've owned a couple of VIA EPIA boxes and to be honest I found then too slow to do stuff like transcode, run comskip. They are also too slow for the new PVRX2 UI. They would be able to record ok, but everything else was pretty painful.

I'm not aware of EPIAs with video input, but if they exist I imagine they dont have hardware MPEG2 encoder GB-PVR requires for recording analog channels.

Sorry...
Thanks for the information.

Upon looking further, I misinterpreted some specs, they don't have video input.

So, realistically I can use a VIA with a Hauppauge (PCI Card) to record fine enough.

Just the transcoding would be painful.

Ok, at least I know. Smile

Does anyone have a recommendation for a mini-itx board? Atom? Via?
I have an EPIA SP13000 which is rated at 1.3GHz, but realistically compared to AMD/Intel is about 600MHz. It can record and play pretty much ok, but thats about it, and it relies on a version of GBPVR which is no longer available.