NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Enough juice in my specs?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've been running GBPVR for a few years now, and it's performed great for my analog days, but am really relying on it more for HD now. I find my Analog recordings turn out just fine, and playback on anything I download (HD or SD) looks great, but my HD recordings are not always reliable. I get some audio sync issues with 720p, and any HD seems susceptible to tearing, skipping, and altogether crappy recordings (Not always, but not reliably good). I've found ts mux seems to work the best on my recordings, but am wondering if maybe my hardware needs an upgrade? Here's my specs:

Windows XP Pro SP2
Intel Pentium D 925 3Ghz
XFX nForce 650i Ultra Socket 775 Motherboard
XFX GeForce 8400 512MB PCIe
2 GB DDR2
Maxtor DiamondMax 21 200GB Hard Drive
WINTV 1600
WINTV 350

Any comments would be appreciated.
You should be fine as far as I can tell but with hard drives so cheap and HD taking up more space, you should get a bigger drive. One with a 32MB cache and at least 7200 RPM. I find simple things like defragging my drives once a week a big help.
I hadn't thought of a Hard Drive upgrade, my OS is on an old old 80 GB hard drive ripped from my old system, would that have any affect on recording performance? (My recordings are all written to the 200 GB Maxtor). I do defrag every week, but it only has an 8 MB cache, I may try something with 32 MB and see if i get better recordings.
bizztizz Wrote:I hadn't thought of a Hard Drive upgrade, my OS is on an old old 80 GB hard drive ripped from my old system, would that have any affect on recording performance? (My recordings are all written to the 200 GB Maxtor). I do defrag every week, but it only has an 8 MB cache, I may try something with 32 MB and see if i get better recordings.