NextPVR Forums

Full Version: No video/audio
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
I should probably start by saying that I am new to NPVR, and have never installed GB-PVR. Instead I plunged straight into NPVR understanding that it is beta, and without ‘carried-forward’ files. I found the installation straight forward; maybe too straight-forward given what’s happened.
I have:
read through the user manual, installed vcredist x86.zip, installed NPVR, configured the system including tuning my Hauppauge Nova T 500 (not the TD as I think was the device identified during the install) , searched the forums, and tried the various codec(settings/decoders). I have also tried Live TV, Watch, and Open File playback with the results below. From what has happened I suspect the codec but thought I might save myself some grief, if before I start fooling around, I get some expert help. As a bit of extra info; I have/can use WinTV v7 (with ArcSoft ASAudio.ax and ASVid.ax), PowerCinema 5 to watch/record DVB. Yes, both are still installed but were not running. I use Vista Ultimate (kept up to date), and meet the minimum computer system requirements.
Live TV
No video or audio. I have tried various codec combinations.
With some I get ‘...please wait...’ and then the system goes ‘not responding’. On other occaisions I get a black screen (on one of my tries the channel indicator showed that I was able to change channels). I’ve had ‘device failed to start’ but I cannot recreate this at the moment. You get the idea!
TV Guide
No video or audio with ‘watch’.
Record seems to work OK as I can playback with PowerDVD9 and WinTV v7 but not with ‘open files’.
I have the utility InstalledCodec installed and can give you further details if required.
Sorry if this post is too verbose and contrary to protcol. I was unsure of how much detail you would need.
First of all Welcome!