NextPVR Forums

Full Version: FF/Rewind rather than skipping??
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm new to npvr so excuse me if my question is poorly formed. The eventghost/npvr/xbmc all-at-once learning curve is a bit steep at times. Smile

I want my fast forward and rewind keys to do just that when playing back a recording, rather than skipping. Looking in keymappings.xml the relevant bit seems to be this:

<Key code="{CTRL}Right" command="SkipForward"/>
<Key code="{CTRL}Left" command="SkipBack"/>
<Key code="{CTRL}R" command="SkipRW"/>
<Key code="{CTRL}F" command="SkipFF"/>

Ctrl+F and Ctrl+R (the ff/rewind keys on my remote) do perform the skip so it seems to be working as intended. Am I able to edit the command fields to make them do rewind and fast forward rather than skip? Four skip keys is more than I need!

Is there a list of valid commands? The reference in the wiki seems a bit incomplete/out of date.

Hope that makes sense, cheers!

ps great product, many thanks to all those who contributed.
There is no fast-forward/rewind ability in NPVR. The function is instead used for a shorter skip.
The reason the app doesnt provide this is because of limitions with 3rd party components. The decoders and demultiplexer we have is to rely on for playback dont do either reverse play (rewinding) or multi-speed forward playback faster than 2x. Skipping provides us the best generic option that is compatible with all decoders, and the Microsoft demux.
Alrighty then! Thanks for the quick and definitive answers guys.
sub Wrote:The decoders and demultiplexer we have is to rely on for playback dont do either reverse play (rewinding) or multi-speed forward playback faster than 2x.