NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Colossus questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi, I'm still quite new to the whole PVR game, having started using nPVR about 3 months ago.

nPVR has worked great for me so far, congrats (and Thank You!) to the devs.

I recently switched to hdtv and replaced my 2250 with a Colossus card.

It's working great and the image quality is awesome.

I would like to know how the capture is setup as far as bitrate, resolution, interleaving and framerate are concerned.

If the STBis set to output 720p, will the Colossus produce a 30fps progressive video?

Is it possible to detect image resolution from a components source?

Also there is one issue I cannot figure out so far.

On some channels (not all, and not only hd channels) I periodically get a black screen withthe message "encrypted content" in white lettering appearing for around 5 seconds. Audio continues normally during message. Video resumes normally after the message. After several minutes, it will reappear.

It may be more related to programs than to channels.

My current setup is Cisco 4642 STB, YPbPr to Colossus, DVI from PC to TVs HDMI (Panasonic S30)

Is this message produced by the STB? I could not find anything after some serious googling.

Thanks in advance to anybody who can shed some light on this.

Simon
Quote:I would like to know how the capture is setup as far as bitrate, resolution, interleaving and framerate are concerned.
You can set the bitrate in the <HDPVR> section of the config.xml. With this device the resolution, and frame rate, is always the same as the input signal you're supplying to the Colossus. There are separate bitrate settings for SD/720p/1080i.

Quote:Is it possible to detect image resolution from a components source?
Yes, the drivers report it, and the application uses this to determine which bitrate profile to use.