NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Can't play MPEG2 Videos :-(
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi all,

sorry in advance, I'm sending lots of questions at the moment and I'm sure some of these will have been answered before....but I can't find it ! But I do really appreciate all the help from everybody !

I've got NPVR up and running and it plays live TV and recordings no problem. But I have a number of MPEG2 videos (many created via Videoredo) which I cannot play via "Videos". I just get a black screen and no sound. It will play recordings via "videos" and it will also play DivX so I'm guessing it must be a codec issue but I'm not very good at the codec stuff.

I downloaded and ran "SD Pack 1.0" from DVB Support.net last night. It gave me some more MPEG2 decoders which I have tried but no luck. I've attached my logs and config file.

I'm running it on XP SP3.

Fantastic software by the way - I'm hooked !!
As far i can see in your logfiles, you seem to have problems with your codec, as you already mentioned before.
The renderer won't be loaded, the decoders are not used.
In this case i would recommend the following:
Remove all so called "codecpacks". As long you don't know, what each codecpack is doing exactly, you shouldn't install it.
If you're sure, that you removed the whole stuff, reboot your machine.
Think about, what your needs fit the best. For an easy start, you could install just ffdshow. So you have only one installed decoder, which isn't configured easy. But it is powerful, if configured right.
Make sure, you run in NextPVR folder (or just startmenu) ReRegister Filters.bat. It looks like, that your codecpackage has broken something in the NextPVR filters.
Make sure, that x264, MPEG-2/MPEG-1 are decoded by ffdshow video decoder, raw video processed as yv12 (only necessary if playing around with avisynth and co). Select ffdshow as decoder in the npvr decoder settings.