NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Transcoding
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Can someone help me with a batch file to convert my entire ts files in the npvr recordings directory to mpg and update the recordings database? I'm not good with command lines. I found a postprocessing.bat file for converting after a recording, but I'd like to convert my existing recordings. Thanks!
I don't think that anyone has made that kind of utility, it's really not needed anymore.

Martin
Yeah, never mind my thinking. What I really want to do is convert it to a smaller file size (avi) not change to mpg wrapper.
There are certainly many tools that allow for batch encoding with Handbrake, if you are prepared to spend days/weeks/months converting. Once you confirm the file is converted you can delete the .ts and NextPVR will automatically recognize the matching .mkv file.

Martin
mvallevand Wrote:There are certainly many tools that allow for batch encoding with Handbrake, if you are prepared to spend days/weeks/months converting. Once you confirm the file is converted you can delete the .ts and NextPVR will automatically recognize the matching .mkv file.

Martin

FWIW, I do transcoding using MCEBuddy to convert from .TS to .MP4 files. MCEBuddy works very well for about 98% of the files. There are a handful of them that lose their audio after conversion. In particular, the late night NBS shows (Jay Leno and Jimmy Fallon). I used to also have problems with latenight FOX shows such as Wendy Williams. My wife hasn't asked me to record any of those in awhile so I don't know if they still have the problem. I suspect that it is due to the audio format that they choose to broadcast them in.

My setup includes:
1. my main NextPvr box (win7) that runs as a server with 4 ATSC tuners.
2. another older quad-core XP box that I use for conversions (runs MCEBuddy)
3. ACER Revo with XP running as client attached to main TV