NextPVR Forums

Full Version: device setup - no channels found
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello ,

I'm new to nPVR. I have a Hauppauge internal dual tuner. Microsoft Media Center was able to recognise channels, but I get no channels when scanning in nPVR. nPVR found both tuners; a QAM and ATSC type on each. My log files are attached. My cable goes to a splitter; one half goes to the internet modem and wireless router, and the other goes to a settop box and then to the tuner card. The log files are attached. Why do I not get any channels?

John
you seem to be doing lots of ATSC scans, which aren't going to pick anything up from the cable company. Digital cable uses QAM. I do see you did one QAM scan for channels 70+, which did not pick up anything. Did you try a QAM scan of all channels? Did you try an HRC scan? Are you sure you do indeed receive digital cable channels? (I would assume that you do in 2012, but maybe there are still some cable operators only doing analog?) If you're trying to tune Analog channels, see post #2 of the thread in my signature (the sticky at the top of the support forum); the section on Analog Capture Devices will point you towards the wiki instructions for getting Hauppauge's SoftPVR installed.

I do notice something else odd, that every single channel during the QAM scan reports "locked=0, present=0, strength=80, quality=100", always exactly the same, which is weird but I don't know why; almost like the tuner isn't really changing channels, but it's not the sort of problem I'd expect to see with a Hauppauge device (I'm assuming you must have an HVR-2250?).
Hi johnson, thank you very much for your reply.

Yes, I am using a Hauppauge 2250. I am 99% certain my cable is digital (at least I've been paying for it for several years now Smile ). I tried scanning with both QAM devices again using several options (updated logs attached).