NextPVR Forums

Full Version: New to NextPVR - Asking for recommended setup w/ Emby & Homerun
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all, I'm brand new to NextPVR and really trying to break away from the cable companies. I got a file server (FlexRAID), a server running Emby/MediaBrowser and just got into running a Homerun HD Prime with a cable card. So now I'm trying to get a DVR solution and NextPVR seems like a popular choice.

So just curious what a recommended setup for NextPVR would be?

My file server is fairly weak as far as processor power goes and has a very generic video card so not sure it can handle any sort of high quality encoding. So would it be more beneficial to run it with Emby which has a better video card? If so, should I keep recordings locally or can they be stored on a network drive? Is it better to put it on a dedicated PC? Or is it best to upgrade my file server with better hardware and load NextPVR on that so the drives are local?

Just looking for suggestions on what everyone else does that works best for them.
you don't need much CPU to record, nor much GPU. The data coming from the HD Homerun Prime is already encoded, and is written to disk with no changes.

external functions like commercial detection (comskip) need some CPU power, but not a ton... when you say your file server is "fairly weak as far as processor power goes" what exactly do you mean?
It's an AMD A4 dual core processor, onboard graphics and 4GB memory. It does what I need it to do but wasn't sure what was needed for recording live tv.

I may give it a shot so I can keep the disk's local.

Thanks for the input.