NextPVR Forums

Full Version: channel scan
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello Folks,

I'm brand new to Nextpvr and hardly know where to start. I installed the Nextpvr and it comes up and that's about it. I'm seeing information on these forums about scanning for channels but it doesn't scan. And I'm not seeing any way to tell it to scan. I'm on windows 10 and using a Hauppauge DCR-2650. I'm at ground zero and will appreciate any help I can get.
With a DCR-2650, it's a rebranded SiliconDust HDHomeRun device, and needs the SiliconDust software installed before NextPVR will see it. So, download and run the installer from http://download.silicondust.com/hdhomeru...150826.exe. You don't need to actually run or configure anything in that software - just install it.

After that, right click in NextPVR to get to the Settings->Devices screen. Your device should be show. Double click the device, hit 'scan' and you should be away.
And READ the sticky thread on top of this forum....
OK, finally getting back to this issue. The SiliconDust software did it more or less. Major progress, thanks so much for that info. I'd never have figured that out. Now it's working, somewhat. First time I ran NextPvr it came up OK. 5 minutes later I tried it again and got a black screen. Later tries, - getting video w/no audio, - frozen video, - more black screens - and other problems. Don't even know where to begin. I'll be experimenting with it and searching the forums for the various glitches. I'll try to isolate and re-create individual problems and try to shoot them.
In any case, thanks again for that invaluable info!!! Back to work.