NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Zap2It Has different show titles for new and rerun shows, this causes problems....
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I should preface this with a bit of a disclaimer, i am new to this, all I have used is windows media center but i decided it is finally time to upgrade, so if I'm posting this in the wrong place, or i am being just in general stupid please tell me and I am sorry in advance.

So anyway now that i have declared that I'm most likely just an idiot, I use zap2it.com to update my epg with zap2xml and an interesting thing that I have found that occurs is they add a " *" (space and then an asterisk) after the titles of "new shows which causes nextpvrs automated recording not to catch them which is a problem. If i set up my recordings to just be the shows with the asterisks then i will get all the new show but if i miss one it will never record the rerun, and if i only record the reruns then it may be months later before i catch some of the shows that I wish to watch. I could also record both but that would lead to two separate folders and a lot of wasted hard drive space.

So now my question is, is there a way to fix this either by some setting in nextpvr, or creating some batch code that would run after the xml file was created and just delete all the " *" in the xml file, or is there a better epg updater i should be using because zap2xml takes about half an hour to get 14 days of programming which is insane, granted it creates a very large xml file, and another thing with zap2xml it needs to be run as an administrator so when nextpvr auto updates its epg listings it will not run properly and therefor i have task scheduler set up to run it every 3 days.

Thanks for your time,
David
David