NextPVR Forums

Full Version: AMD Video Decoder disappeared
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been using NextPVR for about 6 months and I love it, so thanks!

I am using Win 10 Pro 64 Bit on an older Dell. This machine has an AMD Radeon 5450 video card and I have the latest available drivers installed. While the machine doesn't seem like much, it is more than powerful enough for DVD and Blu-Ray playback which is all I need. After a few weeks of using NextPVR, I switched to Kodi as a frontend, but the skin I like has become a bit broken by the latest releases so wanted to go to NextPVR on its own.

From day 1 that I installed NextPVR I had an option in Video Decoder to select an AMD hardware option, so I never sought out any other decoders. Sadly, I can't tell you exactly what the option's "name" actually was, because I never thought to make a note of it. That option has now disappeared and of course I receive the decoder missing screen. Since Kodi uses its own stuff I have no problems there.

I uninstalled and re-installed NextPVR, most recently to update to 3.7.7, and also the AMD drivers, but the option refuses to come back.

The decoding was awesome with this option, and I'd love to have it come back instead of installing some other codecs (which of course I will do if necessary).

I've attached logs; I don't know if they are preserved after a reinstall, but here they are,

Thanks for any help!
jcmaedl Wrote:From day 1 that I installed NextPVR I had an option in Video Decoder to select an AMD hardware option

NextPVR does not include any decoders. The Settings --> Decoders screen lists decoders that Windows is reporting as installed on the machine.

It may be that you have had a DVD player software or somesuch installed in the past that you have siince uninstalled. It may be that the decoder you seek was a part of the software.