NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Shared Folder Issue on Windows Parallels
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi! Trying to setup a NextDVR server on the Windows 10 side of my Parallels setup. Two issues:

1) When I select a shared drive for the recordings, a "Directory Warning" pops up: The recording service runs as a system user account, so won't see drive mappings made under this account. This can lead to failed recordings. Consider using UNC paths instead, or changing the user account used to run the recording service. You also need to ensure hare permissions allow writing to the directory.

I've tried multiple things here: UNC paths, checking shared settings, going into windows Services and telling it to log NextPVR in under my user name since I'm an administrator, etc. None of it works. Any ideas on this?

2) I setup a reserved DHCP on the Windows side so that it would keep the same IP: 192.168.1.21. However, when I try to access the NextPVR remotely, it won't work. It does work when I use "localhost:8866", but not "192.168.1.21:8866" remotely. I also setup port forwarding in my router for port 8866. I'm unable to access the server from my iPhone app, even when I'm on the same network.

Thanks!
mbailey7411 Wrote:1) When I select a shared drive for the recordings, a "Directory Warning" pops up: The recording service runs as a system user account, so won't see drive mappings made under this account. This can lead to failed recordings. Consider using UNC paths instead, or changing the user account used to run the recording service. You also need to ensure hare permissions allow writing to the directory.

I've tried multiple things here: UNC paths, checking shared settings, going into windows Services and telling it to log NextPVR in under my user name since I'm an administrator, etc. None of it works. Any ideas on this?