NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Recording files to temp folder filling up HD
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Just recently NPVR is recording all of these 6 minute 40 second .ts files to the temp directory and filling up my hard drive. I never changed anything so i don't know where to turn this off. I have to go in and delete them before they crash my computer. I've been using this for about 2 years and this just started. How do i turn it off ?
Thanks
Mike
stop the recording service, then delete the temp files - restart service
2leftfeet Wrote:stop the recording service, then delete the temp files - restart service

I don't want to do this every three days. Why is it happening? and how can i prevent it ?
Normally when you watch a live stream, it'll create up to four buffer files, covering approximately 20 minutes of time. When the fourth file is complete, it'll create a fifth, and delete the oldest one. ie, in effect only having four files at a time. When you stop the stream, it'll delete those four files. So...they shouldn't fill up your hard disk.

If you have something unexpected happening, like the software crashing, that causes these files to get left behind, they should be removed next time the recording service is started (like when you reboot).
sub Wrote:Normally .....
If you have something unexpected happening, like the software crashing, that causes these files to get left behind, they should be removed next time the recording service is started (like when you reboot).

sub, this is true most of the time, but sometimes, I have found, that those files aren't always removed. I have seen crashes (particularly with the kodi client*) where files keep accumulating after the crash.

I use a script that fires off on boot or resume from sleep to make sure those files are deleted.