NextPVR Forums

Full Version: iTunes support
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Sorry for being a complete newbie, but is there really no support for iTunes formatted songs, playlists and databases ??

Is this because Apple jealously guard their secrets ? or just that no one has gotten around to reverse engineering their codecs ?

Thanks...
The My Music plugin supports iTunes playlists. If you want to play tracks downloaded from the Music Store, then I think you're out of luck - unless someone knows otherwise (or you convert them to mp3) ...
Adam Hi

It depends what you mean by support. I use the MyMusic plugin which sipports iTunes playlists as well as its own.

I use iTunes for cataloging (rip in MP3) as iTunes allows you to keep the files structured as you wish, which is important for MyMusic organisation.

iTunes is then good for creating offline complicated playlists while I just use MyMusic for on-the-fly playlists. Incidentally MyMusic will, if you wish, convert the xml playlists in to a more efficient m3u format.

Personally I think they worlk well together but you have to decide what you want (the part I find most difficult!)

Cheers

Alan
Thanks for the swift response !

I have ripped all of my music to AAC format though... not MP3, so I guess it will not play at all - or is there some cunning way around this? I thought that AAC was the only format that would work on my iPod.

If not I have a happy sunday or four ahead of me re-ripping my collection :-)
adamopolis Wrote:Thanks for the swift response !

I have ripped all of my music to AAC format though... not MP3, so I guess it will not play at all - or is there some cunning way around this? I thought that AAC was the only format that would work on my iPod.

If not I have a happy sunday or four ahead of me re-ripping my collection :-)