NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Creating .exe for Sky Q Commads
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi all. I am an experienced developer, but new to using NextPVR. I am looking to use an executable that can take advantage of the Sky Q's capability to be controlled over the local network via NodeJS. I have no idea whether this is possible or not.
A complete list of possible commands the box will accept can be found on this page: https://github.com/dalhundal/sky-remote. I think covers almost all of the functions you can achieve using the Sky Q remote.

An example of some simple NodeJs code looks as below:

Code:
ar SkyRemote = require('sky-remote');

// var remoteControl = new SkyRemote('192.168.1.157', SkyRemote.SKY_Q);
var remoteControl = new SkyRemote('192.168.1.157');

// Simple - just send a command
// remoteControl.press('channelup');

// Nice - send commands with a callback
remoteControl.press(['4', '0', '1', 'select'], function(err) {
    if (err) {
        console.log("Woah! Something went wrong. Cry time.");
    } else {
        console.log("I just pressed the Channel Up command.");
    };
});

Does anyone have any example scripts they use? I am assuming that I may have to do something like write out some dynamic parameters to a text file with the NodeJS code in, then execute that, but I could be barking completely up the wrong tree. All I need really is a toe hold to get me started, then I should be alright from there.

Any help gratefully received.

Thanks
Personally I wouldn't bother with NodeJS. Looking at the code in sky-remote.js in the repository, it's pretty basic what it's doing. It's basically opens a socket, and sends 8 bytes. I'd just make an executable in your language of choice (C#, C++, whatever), and have it do the same steps. It'd probably be like 20 lines of code.