NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Is NextPVR right for me?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi I'm new and have a few questions. I'll try to be concise..

My wife has a HP laptop with Win 7. She's been using an old usb Avermedia Volar Max along with Media Center for a long time (US ATSC). Times are changing and I've convinced her to let me replace Win with Mint Cinnamon. I've been using Mint for almost 2 yrs myself and so I'll be doing a complete wipe and installing Tina.

Can't use the Volar Max so I've ordered WinTV-dualHD 1595 from Amazon. This looks to be the safest bet for working.

As far as I'm reading I could either use either 4.15 default kernel and just have one working tuner, grab 5.0 if I want to use both, or use the ppa and let Hauppage take care of it, correct?

Now it (looks) to me that NextPVR is about the most sensible solution for software but I don't know. Certainly not going to shell money for Plex pass and mythtv is pretty hard to set up (I've read). She doesn't need a ton of features, just the ability to play tv, and have a decent guide to set recording. I just wish this could stay fairly simple. I'm reading stuff about front end and back end, I more or less get the concept but could this 5.0 beta NextPVR be a total solution? If not, I'm all ears for anything else. If it's more complicated than this I guess I'll just have learn more.
NextPVR isn't a complete solution because for full time use you still need a client, so that will likely be Kodi.

The safest bet for dual tuners would have been the Silicon Dust HDHR.

Also it will depend on what else she uses here laptop for. If all she needs is the PVR, I'd maybe use Libreelec and not Mint with NextPVR running in docker although I am no sure what tuners work well in docker.

Martin
mvallevand Wrote:NextPVR isn't a complete solution because for full time use you still need a client, so that will likely be Kodi.