NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Unable to communicate with server (IP Address)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there

I am new to NextPVR.

Like many I am transitioning from Windows 7 where I am using Media Center to record TV only, to Windows 10. I am looking for NextPVR to replace Media Center to record TV only. All other media centre duties are handled by Kodi on each of my HTPC's. Taking into account my HTPC setup, I think NextPVR seems to be my best option.

Under my Windows 7 setup, the server (HTPC-L) would record live TV to a local HDD. I would then copy the recordings on a schedule to my NAS to enable my client PC's to access these recordings for viewing later, which worked well.

With NextPVR I have set up the server side of the application and all works well, barring a shutdown issue which I will deal with later.

The issue above is specific to my client PC. I have this PC connecting to a Synology NAS. In effect all I want the client PC's to do is play back the recorded TV. As I use Kodi and intend to continue doing so, I can utilise the NextPVR Client addon which to be fair provides a superior and consistent user experience for other users e.g. WIFE.

I can browse to the same NAS from the same client PC using Windows Explorer with no issues and the NAS is there as a mapped drive as well.

I have found a post https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.ph...ith+server that details the exact symptoms, but can see nothing that seems useful to me as a resolution and its a bit old. I have attached for a screenshot of the message. I realise that the date/timestamp is old but it gives you and indication of how long I have been attempting to find a resolution.

I have attached the client logs after the message was generated. The message generated by NextPVR appeared at approx 15:49, if that helps.

My environment consists of the following:-
3 x HTPC's