NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Which version of Linux?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all,
I'm a noob to the forum and world of linux. I've had experience with Topfield, Beyonwiz and ICETV (Australian for context). I'm wanting to repurpose an old media PC and install Linux and NextPVR. My question is which version of linux would work best for an old PC that I want to run NextPVR on? (originally had Windows 7).

While I'm not overly concerned about getting my head around NextPVR, I am a total noob with regard to Linux. From a bit of reading, I gather Mint or MX Linux – Xfce might be best due to having a similar interface to Windows. I'm leaning towards MX as it can, apparently, run well on older PCs.

Happy for any and all advice.

Thanks, Paul.
From the NextPVR perspective web configuration will be exactly the same on any platform, Linux Window or macOS. Initial installation will be from the command line
too. Some Linux users set up their systems headless (without a monitor) which is how I run it. This allows you to uses minimal install and use most of your PC resources for PVR.

You likely need to make decision become what else do you want to use the PC for, I expect you will continue to use Windows for most things so the choice of GUI and Windows-like interfaces is maybe not that important. MX Linux and Mint are popular though but nothing wrong with Ubuntu or Debian.

If you do want to use Kodi as a client on the same PC then LibreELEC might turn out to be you best choice. The client is optimized and the server installs as an addon. It doesn't give a lot of Linux functionality but maybe enough for your needs. Their support might get you through some trouble spots though.

Martin
Thanks Martin, I'm just going to use the PC as a PVR, so it won't have windows on it other unrelated applications