NextPVR Forums

Full Version: Remote NextPVR backup script for Linux
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Figured I'd share this script in case someone might find it useful. I recently lost my NextPVR setup. I'll spare the gory details but after spending an evening rebuilding NextPVR I swore I'd never go thru that pain again. 

The script creates a zip of all the files needed to restore NextPVR to a new system and copies the file to a NAS mount. I'm not a coder but it works, YMMV.  You'll need to change any paths to fit your use case and run daily from a cron job to fully automate it.

The script creates a zip file containing copies of the /var/opt/nextpvr/ directory to include the npvr.db3, user defined channel icons, user defined scripts, config.xml and any .xml files such as extra files.  It also backs up any .m3u in /home/npvr/ directory.  Once the zip is created locally it's moved a mount point on my NAS. (/backups/NextPVR/ in this case)

In short the script does 6 steps:

# 1. Creates local zip named "YYYY-MM-DD_NPVR_backup"
# 2. Copies the local zip to the NAS mount
# 3. Deletes the local copy of the zip
# 4. Deletes any backups older than 30 days
# 5. Checks the log file and rotates it if needed
# 6. Deletes any logs older than 30 days

The idea is to completely automate it and not require any monitoring.
Code:
#! /usr/bin/bash
# script to zip the data files for NextPVR and move it to a share on a NAS
# the script is designed to require minimal monitoring and performs 6 steps:
# 1. Creates local zip named "YYYY-MM-DD_NPVR_backup"
# 2. Copies the local zip to the NAS mount
# 3. Deletes the local copy of the zip
# 4. Deletes any backups older than 30 days
# 5. Checks the log file and rotates it if needed
# 6. Deletes any logs older than 30 days
# "npvr" is the system user in this case
# Create a mount on the NAS - this  is mapped to "/mnt/backups/" on the local machine