Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: MSI Mega SKy 580 USB2 DVB-T TvTuner PVR

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    MSI MEGASKY 580 working

    Yes, TrueBlue, those settings do work. I have used them myself and get perfect feed - although I do live in a town which has a transmitter and am in line of sight with it!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3
    .... I have also recently found that, if GBPVR finds no channels during Digital Channel Mapping, firing up Presto, exiting and then trying again can work!

    But I have found that GB-PVR only appears to give basic channels like BBC1, BBC2, CBBC, BBC News 24 ...... Presto & even MediaPortal find around 38!!
    Last edited by sbaldock; 2006-03-25 at 03:07 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1

    Updated bda.ini settings

    Hello,

    This is the first time I have posted to this forum....

    I used the tool "GraphEdit", as mentioned previously in this forum, on my computer, and in addition to listing the device [MSI Mega Sky Digital TV USB Mini Receiver], it also listed [ULi M9207 Digital Capture].

    I appended the following to the bda.ini file, in the manner mentioned previously in the forum:

    [ULi M9207 Digital Capture]
    TUNING_TYPE=DVB-T
    FILTER_TUNER=Digital TV USB Mini Receiver
    FILTER_CAPTURE=ULi M9207 Digital Capture
    PIN_TUNER_IN=Input0
    PIN_TUNER_OUT=MPEG2 Transport
    PIN_CAPTURE_IN=MPEG2 Transport
    PIN_CAPTURE_OUT=MPEG2 Transport

    Selecting the "ULi M9207 Digital Capture" device in GB-PVR provides me with the full host of digital channels (several different frequencies for each in fact), all with reasonable reception.

    Not sure why selecting the MSI Mega Sky device doesn't produce any results, but the ULi M9207 worked for me!

    I do notice, that if I change or delete channels rapidly, the device will stop responding and the computer requires re-starting before the device will receive TV again.

    Hope this helps some of you,

    Philip

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,413
    Cheers, I'll include that card definition in the master file.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6

    Scan does not pick up channels

    Quote Originally Posted by steffross
    I have the same device and appended the settings above to the ini file.

    Unfortunately the scan didnt pick anything up at all! Now this could be down to anything as this is all new for me.

    The tuner does seem to pick up most channels when it scans using its own application.
    Quote Originally Posted by sbaldock
    .... I have also recently found that, if GBPVR finds no channels during Digital Channel Mapping, firing up Presto, exiting and then trying again can work!
    I have the same issue as steffross (and also as alluded to by sbaldock), namely that the bundled Presto software picks up channels, but in GB-PVR the rescan picks up zero channels (always shows zero strength and quality). I assume I am on the correct transmitter (Winter Hill for Manchester).

    I've also tried the alternative ini settings as provided by philiprowe without success.

    Are there any other settings I might adjust to improve matters, or is this an issue where the BDA driver is not quite implemented as expected?

    Thanks

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,413
    I have the same issue as steffross (and also as alluded to by sbaldock), namely that the bundled Presto software picks up channels, but in GB-PVR the rescan picks up zero channels (always shows zero strength and quality).
    If you're getting zero channels, you could try running the ReRegisterFilters.bat file. It might help.

    Are there any other settings I might adjust to improve matters, or is this an issue where the BDA driver is not quite implemented as expected?
    Unfortunately not all BDA drivers are created equal. Some seem to be less equal than others...

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by sub
    If you're getting zero channels, you could try running the ReRegisterFilters.bat file. It might help.
    Unfortunately that didn't help. I'm not sure whether I'm getting conflicts from other software so I'm going to try the software on a clean install, and I'll get back to you.

    Thanks

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2
    hey guys, ive tried for two days now to get my Mega Sky 580, with driver 5.1.2600.1043, to get working without any luck. Can someone of you who got it working post a little help-walktrough how to do it maybe? It would be most apresciated. Im so tired of the default applikation one get with the reciever.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2
    no need for a guide. got it working now.. thanks guys.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    703
    Maybe you would like to explain how you got it working for people that still are having trouble?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •