View Poll Results: Do you wan't to upload/download .exe files

Voters
25. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I want this badly!

    3 12.00%
  • No, I can live with .zip files

    19 76.00%
  • I don't care, both works fine

    3 12.00%
  • I don't know the difference of .zip and .exe

    0 0%
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Uploading .exe files

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    486

    Uploading .exe files

    There have been a request about being able to upload .exe files directly (without embedding them in .zip files as you currently have to do). This envolves a potential security risk, so before implementing it I'd like to see if it's a real need for this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,528
    I imagine having .exe's exposed instead of embedded within a .zip file makes them easier for potential "bad guys" to spot (ie web-bots) and do nasty stuff to them.

    If this is the concern, I will vote keep as is. If the wiki is considered decently secured from such hacks, then I may vote otherwise.
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,543
    I vote No - stick with zip files. I can't see any disadvantages to using them.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Coatesville, PA. USA
    Posts
    767
    I don't see unzipping a file as hardship and it gives the authors a chance to drop in a read me file for you to read before you install for any special instructions or whatever. I think it does make it a bit safer than just an exe uploaded. i nothing else it give you more time with it before you run it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    498
    I have no problems with zips either... and I like the fact that read me's etc... can be bundled with them.

    I have no issues downloading a zip that has an EXE in it. When its uncompressed it will be scanned by my Anti-virus too.

    NPVR Rig: Microsoft Surface Pro 2, i5-4200u, 4gb DDR3, 128gb ssd (OS), 2tb Western Digital (Recordings), 1tb Western Digital (videos), Silicon Dust HDHomeRun PRIME, Logitech Harmony Remote

    To Purchase:
    Current Projects:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,237
    I voted Yes I want it, but it is too late....I wanted it badly, because maintaining the themepacks, zipping the exe's and uploading them manually took to much time, since I make small adjustments often.
    I have set up a wiki for the BaseSkin and Themepack, so I will remove these from the GVPVR wiki soon.
    Best Regards
    MixMan

    Antec Fusion case with Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-SH, AMD X2 4850e, 2GB RAM, AMD780G Onboard graphics. WinTV-PVR 150 MCE (With FM), Twinhan DVB-T, 750GB + 250GB HDD. Windows XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 Remote, 29" 4:3 monitor and a 47" Philips 9603H LCD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,543
    Quote Originally Posted by MixMan
    zipping the exe's and uploading them manually took to much time, since I make small adjustments often.
    I just use the inbuilt XP zip format. I right-click and select 'Send To' then 'Compressed (Zipped) Folder'. It works smoothly for me.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,237
    Yes, but to do this 35 times one evening and upload, when an image is added or anything is changed.....i boring. Now I don't have to do it at all. The batch file does it for me.
    Best Regards
    MixMan

    Antec Fusion case with Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-SH, AMD X2 4850e, 2GB RAM, AMD780G Onboard graphics. WinTV-PVR 150 MCE (With FM), Twinhan DVB-T, 750GB + 250GB HDD. Windows XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 Remote, 29" 4:3 monitor and a 47" Philips 9603H LCD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •