Page 4 of 35 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 349

Thread: Graph and TVPI external recorder beta

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by carpeVideo View Post
    I think you forgot the screenshot in the file.

    Are you tuning or watching captured video? And do you get sound with whatever viewing app came with the card?


    CV
    I did attach the screenshots of the graphs - see posts 27 through 29 in this thread. I was not able zip and attach the mpg file - although the attachment page seems to allow zip files upto ~9MB, when I try files with recording for a few seconds (~3MB), it seems to try to upload the file (I can see the upload traffic meter going up), but then the upload/attachment page gives an error (Page cannot be displayed). Is there some other way I can share the mpg file?

    Thanks,
    -Topper

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    826
    Post #29 has an attachment but there is no screenshot in the RTF file - I think that is your latest so wanted to look at that. The MPG file will not likely do any good, unless playback is the issue and not recording.

    Also in the old graph you don't need the overlay and renderer stuff. And I believe if you are tuning the audio xbar out should go right to the encoder. not sure why you would put the sound card in the middle. Finally with that graph your tuner video out is not attached, hence, the no video.

    Try to render the output pin of the audio xbar,play the graph and see if you hear sound,
    Last edited by carpeVideo; 2007-03-24 at 08:33 PM.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    141
    Ooops...looks like I DID goof up on the graph attachment in post #29. Have attached the (missing) graph to this post.

    BTW, I DO get video with the attached graph, even without connecting the "Video Tuner Out" on the Audio Xbar.

    I tried your suggestion for skipping the sound card and connecting the Audio Decoder from the xbar directly to the encoder. Also tried directly connecting Audio Decoder from xbar directly to Audio in on multiplexer. Both instances, graphedit gives me an error "These filters cannot agree on a connection....". The only way I can connect the two is through the sound card.

    Any thoughts?
    Thanks,
    -Topper

    Edit: Check out graph on this page (scroll to bottom where it says: "5. Graph to do streaming capture of audio and video to an AVI "):
    http://ati.amd.com/developer/atiddwdm.html
    Graph similar to mine and ATI claims it should work for capturing VIDEO AND AUDIO to AVI file. Very similar to my graph, not sure why my audio is not working.
    Last edited by topperdude; 2007-03-26 at 05:11 AM.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    141
    BTW, in the Insert Graph window, I do see an ATI WDM Rage Theater Audio filter listed along with the sound card filter. I am guessing this could be the equivalent of the ATI Video Capture filter, but if I try to add it, it gives an error saying "filter could not be created, resources may already be in use". Since its listed with the sound card filter, I thought this could be where the Audio decoder connection could go, but am unable to add it. I don't see anything in memory that may be using this filter.

    Any thoughts on what this filter could be or how I can add it?

    Thanks,
    -Topper

    Edit: After having heard so many bad things about ATI's MMC, I haven't tried using that for tuning/watching TV. However, I did install another PVR program (Got All Media) to test out TV and it works fine. Hopefully, I can get sound working in GBPVR as its more feature rich than most other free PVR software.
    Last edited by topperdude; 2007-03-26 at 05:00 AM.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    I'm attempted to get this plugin working with an ATI AIW Radeon (orginal) also. I'm using a graph similar to the first one you posted. I've successfully captured a file and I'm also getting no audio when trying to play with WMP and GB-PVR.

    However, the file DOES have audio when played with VLC. It also played audio in WMP across the network on the computer I'm on now. When I play in WMP here, the audio codec is listed as Nero Audio Decoder 2, which I can only assume was installed along with Nero 7.

    It seems that either the ATI MPEG Audio encoder or the Multiplexer is saving the audio in a non-standard format, and codecs with looser, more fault tolerant standards are able to play it. I'll post more if I find a solution. It seems like the easiest method would be to install Nero 7 (or another codec that will work) on the PVR or use a different MPEG audio encoder.

    Try your video with VLC, and see if there was actually any audio captured.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    826
    Hmmm

    Well my guess is you don't need anything attached to the VB, VBI pins and the render of this graph to capture the video to the MPEG. You can try VLC to play however it would be easier just to render the capture output of the sound card to see if it is getting audio.

    If sound is really coming from the sound card then I would wonder if you have (or need to have) a physical cable from the tuner card to the sound card for capture. If this is the case then you just need to make sure your sound card record option is set to the correct input (in the graphRecord config) and its volume is high enough for capture. (recorder mixer or on the graph itself) The card doesn't even need to be attached in the graph since it is physical but perhaps its best to do it that way anyway.

    The simplest graph it shows is graph 1 - see if you can get that working first, if you hit the play button in graphedit you should see audio and get video. Than you can change the renderers is in the graph to encoders -> mux -> filewriter and it should work,

    Alternately, graphEdit also has an attach to existing graph option, maybe you could try that will gallm - (I ditched gallm because I could never get it to work with firewire and my fusion card at once)

    You could also try installing AC3 filter for sound I get good results with that,

    CV
    Last edited by carpeVideo; 2007-03-26 at 01:24 PM.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    141
    BurningDog - can you share your graph? I played the file with VLC, but didn't hear any audio. However, the movie was no more than a few seconds long, so will try it again with a longer recording. Perhaps comparing it with your graph can give a clue of what I may be missing out on.

    carpeVideo - Any thoughts on how I can connect with an external (working) graph such as the one from GALLM?

    I agree I don't need the extra components, but some of those (e.g. VPVBI) seem to have been automatically added by graphedit when I re-open the graph. I have deliberately kept the Overlay mixer/renderer part so that I can test the GBPVR functionality (e.g. the overlay shows current TV whereas GBPVR uses the MPEG file to timeshift, etc).

    I did verify that the AIW is connected to the Line In of the sound card and that the Line In is selected under "Recordings" of the Audio panel. Will look into the sound options in graphRecorder plugin.

    Thanks,
    -Topper

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Here is my graph. As mentioned in the posts above this one, rendering the video to screen isn't necessary to capture the file, however I left it in for testing purposes. To listen to live audio along with the video preview, I unmute the Microphone playback control in Windows Volume Control, which is where I have the physical audio cable from the AIW plugged into.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    141
    BurningDog - Thanks for sharing your graph. Mine is more or less the same. However, I don't get any audio even after installing VLC on the PC with GBPVR or when I play the file on a different PC on the network.

    CV - I tried connecting Audio Decoder Out pin from Audio Xbar to various inputs on my sound card (one after the other) and connected the sound card's Capture pin to the Audio Input Pin (rendered) on the Default DirectSound Device filter and still no luck

    Its just wierd that when I first started playing with GraphEdit (or even using GBPVR with the RecorderPlugin, I could get sound but no video. By contrast, with CV's plugin, there's video but no audio. How does RecorderPlugin figure out the graph for playing audio programmatically? Can this be exported in GraphEdit?

    Similar, how can I connect GraphEdit with the Graph used by GALLM (or any other external/working graph)? I ran GALLM and then ran GraphEdit, clicked the button for connecting to external graph and it displayed a dialog box that I think should display the external graphs to link to, but GALLM wasn't in that list. Do I need to do something so that the external graph shows up in the list?

    -Topper

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,848
    Similar, how can I connect GraphEdit with the Graph used by GALLM (or any other external/working graph)? I ran GALLM and then ran GraphEdit, clicked the button for connecting to external graph and it displayed a dialog box that I think should display the external graphs to link to, but GALLM wasn't in that list. Do I need to do something so that the external graph shows up in the list?
    GALLM will only show in that list if the GALLM explicitly allows graphedit to see it, which I'm guessing it doesnt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •