Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 57

Thread: RSS Reader X2 - Support Thread

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    94
    So does that mean its all I should see or should I see the contents of the rss links which contains paragraphs ? That bbc rss link comes as default on mine.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451
    I'm away for an xmas so can't check but it maybe that the RSS Reader plugin is looking in the wrong place for the full details for some of the feeds.

    I will take a look in the new year and post with results...
    My Projects
    Programs Plugin (retired) | Volume OSD Plugin (retired) | Documentation Wiki (retired)

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    94
    Is that normal then? Should RSS reader just pick out the headlines ?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451
    No it's not normal. For example the codinghorror.com feed it shows the full text of each item as you can see from the screenshot on the wiki.
    My Projects
    Programs Plugin (retired) | Volume OSD Plugin (retired) | Documentation Wiki (retired)

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam View Post
    Is that normal then? Should RSS reader just pick out the headlines ?
    This is normal, as that is all that the BBC News RSS feed provides. See the screenshots below in the RSS Reader plugin and Google Reader.
    Last edited by McBainUK; 2008-01-07 at 08:44 AM.
    My Projects
    Programs Plugin (retired) | Volume OSD Plugin (retired) | Documentation Wiki (retired)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    94
    Thanks for digging that up McBainUK. I suppose its really meant for those scrolly vfd screens at the end of the day so not much text is necessary.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    224
    im having trouble getting the feeds from my local paper the page has 3 feeds for sports news and business http://www.recordonline.com/apps/pbc...n?Category=RSS im just trying to use the news one http://www.recordonline.com/apps/pbc...rss01&mime=xml im getting an error its not working with my psp reader either so maybe its something about them. im new to rss feeds though so its quite possible im not doing something right. im just pasting in http://www.recordonline.com/apps/pbc...rss01&mime=xml in the config app. any help is appreciated.
    Last edited by ryanmc; 2008-01-06 at 04:36 AM. Reason: typo

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451
    Quote Originally Posted by ryanmc View Post
    just trying to use the news one http://www.recordonline.com/apps/pbc...rss01&mime=xml im getting an error its not working with my psp reader either so maybe its something about them.
    What is the error?
    My Projects
    Programs Plugin (retired) | Volume OSD Plugin (retired) | Documentation Wiki (retired)

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    224
    it was`sayin invalid character in 0x03 but now today its`workin not sure how or why but thanks

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    10
    Hi thanks for the rss feed plugin, I use it only for cartoons but I have found that "Wizard of Id" doesn't work on this. It used to on the old GBPVR. The feed is http://www.gocomics.com/wizardofid/rss.pxml

    It recognises it but just doesn't show the image, any thoughts I would be most grateful.
    Chris
    Last edited by Suricatta; 2008-01-09 at 05:12 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •