Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 56

Thread: Can MCE remote work without MCE?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    26

    Can MCE remote work without MCE?

    I bought a Hauppage WinTV-HVR-1600 MCE kit from Dell because it was the only version of the HVR-1600 that they sell that specifically says it supports QAM. Their system requirements said that it would work with XP Home, which is what I have on my PC. But when I went to install it, I discovered that it does not come with a driver for the IR receiver for the remote, so I cannot install the IR receiver. Apparently the driver is part of MCE, but of course I don't have it. Does anyone know if there is a way to get this remote working with my PC? I contacted Hauppage but they just said the MCE kit is only meant to work with MCE or Vista computers.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    I have a MCE remote and I'm using it with XP Pro SP2. The MCE remote I got came with my Avermedia M780 card...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    26
    Did your card come with a driver for the IR receiver? When I plugged in my IR receiver (USB), Windows tried to search for a driver for it, but couldn't find one. It identified the device as something like "MCE IR Transceiver 2006".

    Has anyone successfully gotten a Hauppage MCE remote to work with a non-MCE system?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    Quote Originally Posted by sonoma03 View Post
    Did your card come with a driver for the IR receiver? When I plugged in my IR receiver (USB), Windows tried to search for a driver for it, but couldn't find one. It identified the device as something like "MCE IR Transceiver 2006".

    Has anyone successfully gotten a Hauppage MCE remote to work with a non-MCE system?
    I don't think the driver CD came with drivers for the MCE remote. This definitely isn't a Hauppauge MCE Remote like you mentioned though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    932
    I use EventGhost to drive my MCE remote.
    http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Tips/EventGhost
    NPVR 4.1.0.180302 o Kodi 17.6 o EventGhost 0.5.0.rc4 o SAF 6.3.2 o SchedulesDirect

    Case: Apevia X-Qpack HTPC o Motherboard: Asus P8H67-MLE o CPU: Intel Core i3-2100 o RAM: 8 GB o OS: Win7 64-bit
    Tuner: HDHomeRun dual tuner o Leaf SkyHDTV antenna o Remote: Microsoft MCE
    Hard drives: Samsung 500 GB SSD, Seagate 2 TB SATA2, Samsung 540 GB SATA2 o Input: Logitech USB keyboard & mouse
    Video: ATI Radeon 7750 o Monitor: Viewsonic 27" VX2703MH-LED, LG 55" LCD TV

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,957
    are you talking about a mce remote or hauppuage remote they are different look similar though
    the mce remotes i have came with a little reciever box i beleieve they work on mce2005 and xp pro but have never tried xp home
    what version exactly of windows do you have
    im sure if you do a google for your exact remote and windows version someone will have the answer
    if not give us more info on exactly what you have

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    26
    The remote that I have is NOT the regular Hauppage remote; it is their MCE-certified remote that comes in the MCE kit. My PC is running Windows XP Home Edition 2002 with SP2. I have spent many hours searching the Web for the right driver files. Today I found a driver package for the eHome Infrared Receiver which I thought was what I needed, since those are the ones supplied in MCE. It contained the irbus.sys, irbus.pnf, hidir.sys, and other files that I have seen mentioned on various Web pages. However, when I tried to use it, Windows reported that it could not find the software for my hardware. The hardware identifies itself as "MCE TRANCEIVR Emulator Device 2006" in Device Manager. Maybe the driver package that I got is too old and there is a newer set out there somewhere that I need.

    Regarding the suggestion to use EventGhost, I looked at the info on that Web page but the very first step in the directions is to install the MCE remote and make sure it's working before replacing the driver, and that's exactly what I cannot do, so that doesn't get me very far.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,957
    im sure ive read somewhere it doesnt work on xp home
    but you must be able to find drivers ill keep looking for you and see what i can find


    have yoiu tried hip i think it might come with some mce drivers but im not sure if they are just settings if you get what i mean

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,957
    this is from another forum have you tried this
    You need two files for the Windows XP native MCE Remote driver, irbus.inf and irbus.sys.

    You can get them with the following procedure.
    1) Download the Windows Update "Update Rollup 2 for eHome Infrared Receiver for Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 (KB912024)" from microsoft. It is available at http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en.
    2) run the downloaded executable. When the Hotfix install wizard appears on the screen... STOP!! do not continue with the installation wizard.
    3) run notepad, and open the file named kb912024.log that is located in your windows system directory (usually c:\windows\).
    4) on the fourth line of this file you will find the path to the update executable (ie: c:\0d5602f37f532d2198a162164df6\update\update.exe) .
    5) Open Windows and navigate to the root of this path (ie: c:\0d5602f37f532d2198a162164df6). There you will find SP2QFE. Navigate to this directory.
    6) In the SP2QPE directory you will find the irbus.sys file. In the "ip" directory will contain the irbus.inf file.
    7) Copy these two files to a temporary directory of your choice.
    8) Go back to the Hotfix install wizard and select CANCEL. The wizard will ask if you are sure... answer yes. The wizard will clean up after itself.


    from the responses i read after this post there were only positive responses
    as for Hip i dont know if it has the required drivers there were mixed responses some saying it would work some saying it wouldnt
    it seems natively xp home does not have the drivers hence the reason for the above needing to be done
    Good luck
    Last edited by stustunz; 2008-01-03 at 12:19 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks for your detailed instructions. I tried it and attempted to have Windows install the drivers by pointing it to the folder with the new files in it. But Windows still says it cannot find the software for my hardware, so apparently somewhere there is still a mismatch. I'm at a loss here. It really seems like these files should work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •