Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: "This time slot" not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Redmond, WA USA
    Posts
    132

    "This time slot" not working

    Hi All

    I've been using EWA for a while now, it's a great add on. I recently decided to try recording the 5-6 news show so I could watch it w/o commercials. Unfortunately, when I try to do so (by ticking the "this time slot" and "any day" boxes), EWA shows that all episodes of the news are scheduled for recording, which is a lot given that this is an all news channel

    Any ideas what may be going wrong? I can succesfully use the "this time slot" on other shows, it jsut seems to be this news show that throws it.

    TIA!

    D
    2 HD-PVRs, G4400 w/ 4GB RAM, 12 TB HD, Windows 10 Pro, 2 PCH A110, 1 eGreat m34A

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by drbenjamin View Post
    Hi All

    I've been using EWA for a while now, it's a great add on. I recently decided to try recording the 5-6 news show so I could watch it w/o commercials. Unfortunately, when I try to do so (by ticking the "this time slot" and "any day" boxes), EWA shows that all episodes of the news are scheduled for recording, which is a lot given that this is an all news channel

    Any ideas what may be going wrong? I can succesfully use the "this time slot" on other shows, it jsut seems to be this news show that throws it.

    TIA!

    D
    First thing I want to check is what happens when you try to record this through native GBPVR.....do you get the same behavoir? EWA just uses the API provided by GBPVR to set recordings......I want to rule out an API issue before looking at a problem in EWA.

    If you can schedule this via GBPVR native without the same results it may be something with EWA.

    Let me know.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Redmond, WA USA
    Posts
    132
    Thanks for the reply, I never run gbPVR because I only use MVPs to watch, and to date I've only used EWA for scheduling. I fired up gbPVR on my machine, and I get the same behavior. Incidentally, having messed around a few hours tonight, I now realize that not all episodes are flagged, but the one I select and the next one are; I select 4-5, and it records 4-5 and 5-6. The recurring entry is correct - it shows 4-5, but the pending queue shows both 4-5 and 5-6.

    I guess I'll post this in the main support forum - thanks again!

    D
    2 HD-PVRs, G4400 w/ 4GB RAM, 12 TB HD, Windows 10 Pro, 2 PCH A110, 1 eGreat m34A

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by drbenjamin View Post
    Thanks for the reply, I never run gbPVR because I only use MVPs to watch, and to date I've only used EWA for scheduling. I fired up gbPVR on my machine, and I get the same behavior. Incidentally, having messed around a few hours tonight, I now realize that not all episodes are flagged, but the one I select and the next one are; I select 4-5, and it records 4-5 and 5-6. The recurring entry is correct - it shows 4-5, but the pending queue shows both 4-5 and 5-6.

    I guess I'll post this in the main support forum - thanks again!

    D
    Thanks.....I'll point sub over here since it would be an API issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,187
    When you schedule a timeslot season recording, it'll automatically schedule recordings for all shows that have the correct title and have a start time that falls within the timeslot.

    The timeslot is defined as +/-90 minutes of the start time of the original recording. This is done to allow for slight variances in the schedule from week to week. The idea is that it copes with, for example, a show being broadcast an hour late one week due to some special event airing before it etc.

    This scheme generally works well, but could cause serveral recordings to be picked up if there are several shows with that title in that 3hour period. I suspect this is what you're seeing.

    If this timeslot behaviour doesnt suit you, and you'd prefer it to only record shows if they're at that exact time each day, then you can set <AllowableTimeslotVariance>0</AllowableTimeslotVariance> in config.xml, but dont come complaining to me when one of your favourite shows airs late one week and it doesnt get recorded

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Redmond, WA USA
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    When you schedule a timeslot season recording, it'll automatically schedule recordings for all shows that have the correct title and have a start time that falls within the timeslot.

    The timeslot is defined as +/-90 minutes of the start time of the original recording.
    Looks like that's exactly what's happening. When I use gbPVR to do the scheduling, and select the 4-5 showing, gbPVR shows 2:30-6 as the recording time. The show does have the same name from 12-6, then is called "Evening Edition"

    I got around the problem by setting up a Manual Record for the specific time I want - now that I understand the timeslot behavior I'd like to keep it for the rest of my shows.

    Thanks again!

    D
    2 HD-PVRs, G4400 w/ 4GB RAM, 12 TB HD, Windows 10 Pro, 2 PCH A110, 1 eGreat m34A

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •